Deathbat News


Mike Portnoy Talks Avenged Sevenfold With Gold Mine.
July 5, 2010, 8:23 am
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Interviews, Mike Portnoy, News

Gold Mine recently conducted an interview with Mike Portnoy where they touched briefly on his time in the studio with Avenged Sevenfold. You can read the entire interview here.

Avenged Sevenfold’s drummer, Jimmy Sullivan, was a huge fan of yours. Your participation with the band is probably a big honor for them, and it’s really a nice gesture on your part.
It’s an honor for me, as well, to have been kind of hand-picked and asked to do this, because of the situation. You know, when I went in and did the album, it was something I was honored to do. I wanted to be really careful to bring The Rev’s drum parts to life for this album. They lost their brother at an unbelievably early age. You know, he was only 28, so it was a tragedy that they had to endure. I wanted to go in there and carry on his legacy with the drum parts he was supposed to be playing. So, I did my job, and we had such a good time with each other on a personal level … The guys are really cool guys, and I really enjoyed making the record with them. And I told them, if I was able to tour with them, I would love to do it, and, sure enough, their tour is beginning as soon as Dream Theater’s is ending.

Is it going to be easy for you to switch gears so fast?
I’m used to playing with many different artists through my last 15 to 20 years, if you look at my discography. I mean, I’ve played with at least a dozen different side projects and bands. Even this year alone, I’m playing shows with four different bands, all of whom are very different: Dream Theater, Avenged Sevenfold, Transatlantic, and Hail! It shows that my musical taste is broad. I love so many different styles of music, and that’s one of the reasons why I like playing with other artists.

25 Comments so far
Leave a comment

ONE!!

Comment by a7xfan002lock

Hey DBN, Whats ur favorite A7X Song?…Or Album?

Comment by SchmidtGates

ugh, i hate this, everytime they interview him they ask the same a7x question and he just gives the same answer, god forbid they go a little more into it, alot of us want more details and his perspective, im starting to think that hes not even excited about the a7x thing, hes just kinda like “yea, their brother died and im glad that i was picked, but its whatever” ugh…

Comment by newt

Well what else can he say? If they got somebody else besides Portnoy, that other person would probably say less. I mean, this isn’t some happy-go-lucky thing for Portnoy, for he has to take this seriously, and he is. He also has given his perspective in past interviews on drumming for A7X. So quit or just don’t read the interview!

Comment by Alyssa

I wasn’t refering to him not saying more, I’m talking about the interviewers always asking the same damn questions, obviously he cant say more because they never elaborate.

Comment by newtoo3

Hey this is for you DBN, I appreciate you editing my post, and dont have to approve this one, but 1. if ur not goin to let me tell her think before she speaks, then u should edit her “quit ur bitching” comment, becuz the main emphasis on that post was that she shouldnt jump to conclusions and insult me without thinking it through…ur site, ur rules, i just ask that u try to be a little more professional and exercise equality…

Comment by newtoo3

I dont usually edit comments unless they’re pretty rude so I edited out the rude remarks in your post, not the entire thing. Rude comments like that arent called for and I wasnt aware that she had made one though now I’ve taken the offending comment out. This is a place for fans to come together because of something they love, not to sit here and insult one another. So your offending comments in this post have been removed as well. I apologize for letting the other slip through towards you.

Comment by deathbatnews

Thank you :)

Comment by newt

I wasn’t trying to be rude, I am sorry if you took me that way. And I wasn’t trying to insult you in any way. I just found your first comment somewhat ignorant, but then maybe I should have read it better. Again, sorry if you took offense to what I said.

Comment by Alyssa

not Mike’s fault the interviewers ask all the same questions..
and he said in countless interviews how excited he is to play with a7x, and how honored he is to be persoannly picked by the band. What do you expect him to be like, some 15 year old kid going “OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! I’m playing with Avenged Sevenfold! They’re soooooooo hot.”
feck sake mate..

but ya, the interviewers questions do suck…

Comment by stringerrathead

lol i agree, if he acted like a fan boy, it would be quite irritating, but im talking about like, drumming specifically, there are alot of questions about how much of the drumming wasn’t the rev’s, he says he stays true to the rev, shads says that he asked mike to do his own thing on a couple of songs and, and the others dont really talk about it. The question about Syn writing a song specifically for the rev after his death has been raised a few times, did syn put the guitar over a demo that the rev had previously done? Or is it 100% portnoy? im not asking him to reveal the album, just some basic questions need to be asked by some better interviewers on the subject. Other than “So you helped out A7X?, thats cool, next question.”.

Comment by newtoo3

Although I could be wrong, I thought that the song was written and Syn wrote the lyrics to match the song. I’m probably wrong but that’s what I thought I understood.

Comment by Anonymous

yeah, thats the most annoying things about an album release, usually interviewers just have a template for “new album interviews”, and few (only the good ones) do proper research before an interview and elaborate on previously answered questions, for example like Syn’s song. Im totaly with you, im confused cuse they said the album’s music was written before The Rev died, so is Syns song just one of those demos he wrote before he died with Lyrics written by him, or was the music and everything after his passing?

infact, one of the best interviews iv seen has been with the fan questions, atleast we fucking know what we’re on about..

Comment by stringerrathead

It’s an okay interview
I’m still very excited to see A7X live :D

Comment by ema7x

This may be off topic, but I had a dream of me listening to “Fiction”. My vision of the song sounded as if you were listening to a dream and The Rev’s voice is telling a story of some sort.

Comment by Synester00

DUDE NOW WAY!I had the same dream that i waz listening to fiction… It waz almost exactly the same…like the rev is telling some sort of story… Strange but cool man

Comment by SchmidtGates

zomg did you guys both have the same lyrics being sung to you!?!?!

Comment by steve

I had a dream that i heard fiction some time ago. I distinctly remember the rev singing the line “i hope you’ll find your own way when im not with you tonight” the way he sung the word tonight was kind of like how he sing “his eyes” in alpoh the second time he sings. “ripped his heart out right before HIS EYES” just the way he sung it in my dream was less theatrical and more powerful and emotional.

Comment by Jim C

I actually did have a dream like that too, but it was covered in a lot of dark-blue fog. The Rev’s voice wasn’t echoing through my ears, though, it was almost like he became my conscience. I mean, his voice was literally inside my head, loud and clear.

Comment by Gabby

I think they call that Schizophrenia. Nah, I’m just kidding. Can’t wait for the new album. Hopefully I hear the whole album in my dreams. Haha.

Comment by Tanner

2 days ago i dreamed going to a memorial concert for the rev and we all listened to danger line and god hates us

danger line sounded alot like sidewinter and m.i.a

and god hates us………i dont remember

Comment by daniel

Hello DBN can u reply to my message? It would make my dream come true :)

Comment by Neil

Hi :)

Comment by deathbatnews

woahh thanks :D

its almost like talking to a celebrity.
:P
thank you for this website. i live in dallas and im visiting dubai and without this dbn.com i wouldnt know whats going on with my favorite band :D

Comment by Neil

That’s how I felt the first time DBN replied to one of my comments.

Comment by Danniel




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185,373 other followers

