Deathbat News


Revolver Magazine And M Shadows Talk “Carry On,” Lana Del Rey, The New Avenged Sevenfold Album And More.
November 27, 2012, 8:57 am
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Interviews, News, Revolver Magazine

Revolver Magazine recently got a chance to speak to M Shadows about writing and performing “Carry On” for Call Of Duty: Black Ops 2, working on the new Avenged Sevenfold album, writing and working with Arin Ilejay, his favorite albums of 2013, what he likes so much about Lana Del Rey’s “Born To Die” album and more.

What has it been like working with Arin on this album with writing?
M: It’s been good, man! It’s been cool. A lot of it’s been us refreshing him on what our influences are and where we’re coming from as a band. There’s a lot of things that he was never brought up on that we have to quickly get him acquired to such as Pantera and Metallica and Slayer and Megadeth and we’re introducing him to these records that were literally the biggest records when we were growing up. Just records that you have to know. He’s much younger and he grew up listening to Avenged Sevenfold and Bullet For My Valentine, ya know? So it’s a completely different generation and it makes me feel old to even talk about it. Right now, we’re handing him [Pantera's] Far Beyond Driven and [Metallica's] Master of Puppets and saying, “Learn these albums. You need to learn these things” because when we’re talking about “groove metal,” we’re not talking about some Warped Tour band. We’re talking about fucking Pantera! We’re talking about Black Sabbath, ya know? So we’re getting him acquired to that and I think he’s learning really quickly what we’re looking for. We’re not looking for an overly technically proficient drummer. We’re looking for a guy that knows how to fit the song and be in the groove and play the right thing in the right moment. It’s been cool. It’s been good. He’s been doing really, really well.

What is it that you like about the Lana Del Rey record?
M: I just love her songwriting. I think it’s a really well-done record. It’s warm. I just love her songwriting. The melodies are brilliant, I think. The production is great. I mean, it’s something I love to listen to, throw it on, and I love every song on that record. It’s one of those things that I can throw on and push shuffle and never be bummed when something comes up.

20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am enjoying all the love for Lana Del Rey.

Comment by deathbatnews

Right?

I’m proud of him.

Comment by Loghen

I love Lana!

Comment by Erica

Awesome that he loves Lana Del Rey’s record. I love it myself as well, so that was really great to hear!

Comment by Dynan

great, keep fight !!! I’ll be waiting for your next album :D

Comment by Victoria Black (@Victim1120)

Im not sure how I feel about the direction they are headed for the new album…Im not totally against them going classic metal but I’ve honestly never been a big fan of classic metal so Im not sure what to think

Comment by zach

“I’m not totally against them going classic metal but I’ve honestly never been a big fan of classic metal so Im not sure what to think” ²

Agree. Anyway I know A7X never disappoints when they’re in the studio.

Comment by Jordan

This is a great interview and a great sign for the future of Avenged. M shadows is such a grounded and intelligent person and somehow he knows exactly where to take the music and how to bring it to the next level with the right influences. I am truly excited for the next record now, oh how can I possibly wait!

Comment by Airguitar98

Not very optimistic on this new album. I like Avenged BECAUSE their musicis somewhat technical and wildly over the top. I DO NOT want a simple and easy to play sabbath-esque/classic rock album in the least.

I did see Shadows mention classical music in the interview. That however does get me excited. I’m totally down for some neo-classical/symphonic Avenged

Comment by Eric Smith

So excited they’re starting to come out a little bit about writing :) I’ve missed you guys!

Comment by Harley Quinn

I love that they’re going for a classic rock feel. I hope they dig into some of Zeppelin’s more progressive, intricate stuff like No Quarter, The Rain Song, Ten Years Gone, The Battle of Evermore, etc. If they can somehow mesh that with the A7X sound it would be amazing.

Comment by Anonymous

totally agree….don’t think they’re gonna make a lame classic rock retro record, more so a darker, bluesier, more mature sounding record, with an older prog feel

Comment by a7xfreakdrummer

We’re talking about an intelligent bunch of blokes who rarely make a dud song. I wouldn’t bet on Syn(Paganini re-incarnate) putting out any record that is easy to play, or Shadows putting out a sing-along.

Haven’t heard many/ if any accurate covers thus far?!

Go hard fellas can’t fucking wait, still trying to catch up with your playing abilities down here in Adelaide so don’t improve too drastically!!

Comment by Nick Bures

This is great. I love how they are going in the opposite direction compared to all these other bands adding dubstep and what not…and to those who think its a bad idea going classic dont worry…he said it would be old school yes but still have a modern feel to it….. And it most likely wont be slow simple stuff like some of you seem to think….we all know it wouldnt be an avenged album without crazy complex solo’s and some fast aggressive riffs in there somewhere….they have always had good solos and riffs on every album regardless of the direction/style of the album..

Comment by Walter

There are 2 comments by M Shadows I loved reading was about finding the right place for the drums on a song. So why I hold the Rev far and above all drummers. He was the master of finding the right thing to play at the right time to make a song spectacular. He is a genius!

Comment by D

I simply cannot wait! I think it will be great to hear what they come out with and it’ll just blow our freakin’ minds! Practice hard guys and give us some more of that A7X goodness \m/ \m/

Comment by Carmen Feuling

I love it how A7X is never afraid to try something new, I am a little bit scared though. But A7X has never disapointed me so I’m excited about the new album! I’m glad that they let Arin work more on this album too.

Comment by poffi

I was listening to Led Zeppelin when I read this interview :D so i’m pumped for what is to come.

Comment by Anonymous

I’m kinda up in the air about the new album and direction.. They have some big shoes to fill after Nightmare and because that album was so great, it seems to me that no matter what, whatever follows is gonna be a let down. Guess we’ll just have to wait and see.. I know damn well I’ll be rockin’ out to it though….

Comment by Anonymous

I swear to goodness and all that is holy that M’s love for that Lana del Rey record is what I feel for Avenged Sevenfold’s music..makes me wanna shed a tear haha.but to be honest, not really so much for STST. from Waking The Fallen and later, Im never bummed for any of their songs. I love STST though <3 I love avenged and been a fan for 4 years and still can't pick a favorite album or song. It's too hard haha I love them all! Why am I writing so much!

Comment by ja7xie




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185,526 other followers

