Deathbat News


Sold Out Baltimore, MD Show/Fall Tour – CANCELED.
September 7, 2008, 1:38 pm
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Live, News

I just got news coming from a source at the sold out Baltimore, MD show that the concert tonight has been canceled. I’ll post more information as I get it.

UPDATE #1: The band has canceled tonight’s performance due to illness.
UPDATE #2: Keil has emailed letting me know it’s been said that M. Shadows will need surgery to fix an apparent vocal chord cyst and the band hope to be touring again by December.
UPDATE #3: The MAJORITY of the Fall Tour is expected to be canceled. The ENTIRE tour has not been. However, as stated before, the band hope to be touring again by December. We’re sure the band will pick up wherever the tour is once Matt begins feeling better and is able to perform again.
UPDATE #4: The ENTIRE TOUR HAS NOT BEEN CANCELED. A good MAJORITY of dates are EXPECTED to be. I have no official cancellations until the band themselves releases them. Stay tuned!

Let’s keep Matt in our thoughts and we hope he has a speedy recovery. Keep his spirit up by being understanding of the situation and letting him know we support him and the rest of the Avenged Sevenfold boys!

47 Comments so far
Leave a comment

oh no…..im so worried bout Shads now….i really hope his voice really recovers !!!!! :(

Comment by MonikaV.

Damn reading fest now this, really hope its not serious
Get well soon Matt

Comment by Anonymous

I really hope everyone, including Matt, is okay. I was at the show -last night- in Huntington, WV, and Matt’s voice seemed to be fine. I just hope he didn’t overexert himself. =\

Comment by Ambria

Oh Dear God! I’m **** worried bout shads now i mean really Plz Recover matt!!!!!!! <3
.X.x.Farha.the.skelevangelist.x.X. xx

Comment by .X.x.Farha.the.skelevangelist.x.X.

Ahhh! I hope he’s okay :( Get well soon Matt!

Comment by Ashley

Thanks so much for the update! We appreciate it loads! And as always, keep up with the great work =)

Comment by Sabine

Ah, so apparently it is Matt’s vocal chords. =\
I’ll be praying for him and that everything goes well.

Thanks for being on top of things and delivering this news to the A7X community.

Comment by Ambria

That’s so sad :(
The most important thing is that he gets better and if it takes canceling the tour then so be it. Get better soon, Matt! <3

Comment by mlsevenfold

So, doest this mean all the shows are canceled? like Qubec city and Montreal?

Comment by Isa

I hope Matt gets better soon!! So they can come back to the UK and do their tour!!!
LMAO
but seriously, I hope he gets better soon.

Comment by miavee

My hopes and prayers go out to Shads. Hopefully this is only temporary and he will make a full recovery.

Comment by Justin

That’s awful news. Hope he recovers soon x

Comment by Andie

If they weren’t touring so much than this sort of stuff wouldn’t happen. You know how many bands have burned out and broken up because they toured too much? Touring for more than a year is unhealthy for a band, and here’s your proof.

And the fans need to stop bitching about only seeing A7X once every album; at least you got to see them once. Thousands of fans don’t even get that. Stop putting preasure on the boys to tour more than they should. Would you rather see them live 3+ times or have them burn out and break up?

Comment by Max

OH God!! i so hope Matt gets better! If this is the end of A7x ill DIE! so keep Matt in ur thoughts really people. Get better soon Matt! we Luv u!

Comment by Raven Vengeance

To the post above – Dude you need to chill out, A7x themselves make the choice to tour as much as they do regardless of “pressure from fans” even though I’ve seen none. And fans wanting to see a band a lot is a positive thing not a negative thing. There’s no need to rant, rave, and point fingers about who’s responsible for this sort of thing. A simple, “This is awful, I really hope Matt gets better soon!” would have been appropriate. Geez

Comment by Keil

aw, poor dude. i sure hope matt recovers soon, he must feel so frustrated right now. i have to admit i actually saw this coming and expressed concern about it when they didn’t play at reading, so get better soon matt! and thanks for the update, dbn!

Comment by laura

fuck

Comment by Anonymous

Arw Matt :(
I hope he’s okay.

Comment by Lexx

DUDE MAX I KNO WHAT URE SAYIN N I AGREE.
WITH THE FACT THAT PPL R BITCHING THAT SUM PPL WANNA C THEM MORE N MORE …N S&@# THEY HAVE THEIR LIVES AT HOME N THEIR RISKIN THEYRE LIFE 4 GETTIN THOSE WISHES TRU N JUST HURTING THEMSELVES I MEAN PPL SHOULD APPRECIATE THAT AT LEAST THEY GET TO SEE THEM SOME PPL DONT (I KNO I HAVENT N N N REEEEEEEEEEEALLY WANT TO) BUT IM WORRIED ABOUT THEM. I HOPE MATT REALLY GETS BETTER!!!
N LOL….. DONT B PARANOID THAT A7X IS OVER… LOL THEY JUST NEED REST REALLY

N KEIL WHOS BLAMIN THE FANS???
ITS THE FACT THEYRE DOIN THIS 4 US.
WOULD THEY SHOW UP TO A CITY WHERE EVERY HATED THEM N NEVER SHOWED RESPECT… NO THEY WOULDN’T SO ITS CUZ WE LIKE THEM THAT THEYRE COMING N MAKIN BIG

well i hope matt really does get better ill wish him luck n cant wait to c the dvd in 8 days!!!!!!!!!!! countin down hehe

Comment by a7x~fuck~me

i called a dj in dayton and he said theyre still playin xfest

Comment by kara

Wow, “a7x~fuck~me”, was that really necessary?

Comment by Keil

I do hope that Matt gets better, but I’m saying that if they didn’t try to tour so much, this wouldn’t be happening. I’m not ranting, I’m stating the truth.

And if you don’t think that fans need to chill out, just look at what happened when they cancelled their UK tour. The fans went batshit over it, when the band themselves said that if they kept going, that would have broken up. It’s great that they wanna tour and keep the fans happy, but they can only do so much.

The health of the band comes first, and the fans need to realize that.

Comment by Max

ive recently had a cyst not uhm on my vocal cords but its very painful, i hope the best for matt, and that he recovers asap, touring isnt even important right now tbh <3

Comment by jc

Tbh I think we in the UK only had a bit of a fit about the whole cancelling a tour was ’cause they didn’t, at the time, give a proper reason for doing so so a lot of people just automatically assumed they didnt want to play here. But I guess those people aren’t really fans.

also after didn’t they play a few shows in the US or something? or is my mind making stuff up.

and also to the person saying they’re still playing that date thats like a week away. surely they won’t if matts done something to his vocals that needs surgery.. it’d take longer than a week for him to rest it up im sure.

not that any of this really concerns me at the moment. Im just concerned he might’ve done some permenant damage or whatevz. :/

Comment by Leanne

Something this important should be left to the band or their management to announce. FALL TOUR IS CANCELLED and oh, a majority of the shows MIGHT Be cancelled are two very different statements and will affect your subscribers in different ways. If they end up touring the entire time, you are going to lose a lot of credibility.

Before anyone spews anything at me saying I don’t care about Matt’s health because I didn’t mention it, I do. I certainly hope that if he really does require surgery that it will go smoothly and that he will have no complications and no lasting effects on his health. As a fan I will disappointed that I’ve missed another chance to see them perform but better to miss one than have him continue and further damage his body and NEVER see them again.

MOD NOTE: We’re reporting things as we hear them.

Comment by Cherry

OMG, this is terrible news. First and for most I hope Matt recovers. Second I hope they still make it to Xfest in Dayton because I have been looking forward to it and they r the whole reason I am going to Xfest. And the last time they were in Dayton there was a blizzard and alot of ppl didnt’ get to go to that show.

Get well soon Matt!!
~A7X4L~

Comment by Juli

A7X has the best fans, its awesome no-body is angry.. just concerned. i love it!!!!!! Get well Shads!!!!! we <3 you!!!!!

Comment by chayna

omg. im like so close to tears. all i hope is that hes alright. cancel everything if needed i dont care, just get better!! anything it takes!!

we love you matt! get better soon!!

Comment by junior

I had tickets to that concert for today. I traveled all the way to Baltimore from my home in PA. I was miffed when I found out it was canceled, but now that I know it’s something this serious, I will wait as long as it takes to see them live again.
I wish Matta successful surgery and hope everythign goes well, as well as a good recovery. Good Luck Matt!!

<3 much love

Comment by Ashley

That’s strange because ALOT of people that were at the West Virginia show last night, said that his voice sounded AMAZING.

Comment by screameasy

How reliable is ‘Keil’ as source? Does he work for Avenged? Where did he get this information?

Comment by Kate

he might have had a good night “screameasy”…but that doesnt take away from the fact that he has a condition, and he needs to get it fixed. i mean i was going to the block party, next weekend, still am, and i really hope they still are able to show up, HOWEVER if him singing, one bit, or anything, will make him just that much worse, i DONT want them coming. and i know that means ill miss out on seeing them, and everything else i was looking forward too, but its not about me. its about Matt and his recovery. i heart that man too damn much to be selfish about this.
i think they need time off. lots of it. months. not just till December. id say spring. thats a looooong time, but i dont really care, his health is THEE single most important thing.

<333

Comment by junior

who was this “source”?

Comment by Rachel

To Kate (two posts above) –

I was at the show this morning and I got the information from Matt Berry… I don’t know about you but I’d consider him pretty reliable.

Comment by Keil

P.S.
You can call me a liar, or unreliable, or whatever else you like. I was just giving the news I heard from a reliable source to DBN so they can give it to the fans ASAP because unfortunately as many of you know the people who run the A7x fan site aren’t exactly renowned for their response time. And again, if they release an official statement and the facts don’t agree, oh well, I apologize. Once again I was just reporting what I heard from a VERY close friend of the band, to DBN, to you. Thanks ^_^

Comment by Keil

whos giving Keil shit?! for real!!

i wanna thank Keil for thinking to tell dbn and to get the info to us as soon as they could. id rather know a little of whats going on and be confused, right now, than not know anything. and yeah i WOULD consider Matt Berry a VERY reliable source. so whoevers givin Keil crap, lay off! >:/

Comment by junior

The band’s health comes first before anything, no matter what bullshit you guys wanna spew. If you’re a true fan you’ll understand. I understand myself. I had my heart set on going to a handful of these shows. Yes, it’s a let down to me but regardless, I’m concerned for Matt’s health and the band staying tight. Let’s keep him in our prayers and hope for a quick recovery.

Comment by a

A7X, i wish you a speedy recovery, but dont rush back to quickly! make sure your all 110%!

Comment by Shell

oh god, i feel bad for matt, i really hope he’ll get better soon, he need to watch his voice while he’s performing, i know he already had a surgery before! well, we all love you matt. get better soon

Comment by tara

get well soon mat,i hope to see you back in good shape at quebec city,the entire city will wait for you to comeback and rock the house!!!avenged rock 4 life!!!!peace:(

Comment by bourk

Ok 2 the comment i left b4 u people hav been b**ching me out 4 sayin “If this is the end of A7x Ill Die!” but wat i ment by that was i really care soooo much im so obessed with the band i havent seen them eather but i hope 2 1 day. So people back off cuz u dont kno me or my life.
So Matt i really hope u get better nd im srry us fans did this 2 u! So hav a good recovery! We luv u!

Comment by Raven Vengeance

The show was postponed due to illness in Baltimore and is said to be reschelduled at a later time. A7X NEVER cancels a show unless it is an absolute nessecity. Here is to a speedy recovery.

Comment by PopRocks

Let’s all hope he gets better real soon
i was so sad to hear this, i honestly almost cried
Get well soon Matt :(

Comment by ZoeZombie6661

fuck speedy…. just hope theyre 100% better…
good shit takes awhile
EVERYONE KNOWS THAT!

LMAO

Comment by a7x~fuck~me

the quebec venue has just been reported too

Comment by zackyv6661

Darn….

All the best to Matt, A7X and crew!
PEACE.and.LOVE [Always]

Comment by Paki.Rican

Okay… no one needs to start bitching me out or anything, I’m only putting this out there so don’t go all crazy on me…

But EVERYONE NEEDS TO -CHILL OUT.-
DO NOT even MENTION it being the end of Avenged Sevenfold. That’s just jumping to conclusions. We all love the band and we’re all worried, here, but please don’t even say something like that… it’s scary enough as it is, isn’t it?
The people who are either pissed off or disappointed, like I said in another comment in another post: Think about it like this, would you rather Matt took time off and got a hundred percent better and got to keep his amazing voice for the rest of his life? Or would you rather he pushed himself over the edge for you for one night and shot his voice, never able to sing again?

Be supportive like a real fan should be. So if you call yourself a fan, BE one. Just sayin’.

As for this post, I’d like to thank Keil for letting DBN know about this as soon as possible, and DBN for posting it as soon as they heard. It was great of you guys to let us know, and I hope Matt gets the care he needs and takes some time off.
Like a lot of people, I was looking forward to seeing Avenged again soon, but if taking time off means they all regain their health, then I can wait a few more months.

Take care of yourself, Matty; we love you!!

Comment by Atrum




Leave a Reply

