Deathbat News


M Shadows: We’re Coming Back To The UK After A New Record Is Recorded.
December 15, 2008, 12:52 pm
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Interviews, News

Iain Wilson sent a few questions that M. Shadows had answered for the forum members. Also thanks to Michael for getting these user submitted questions to M. Shadows and posting the answered product. Here’s a few that the front-man gave some interesting and informative answers to:

So you guys basically kick ass and take names when it comes to touring the universe. But honestly, the tour circuits seem to get longer and longer to the point where fans wonder about the members’ health. We hear about occurrences of common colds, the flu, vocal problems, maybe other weird stuff we shouldn’t know about, and Matt’s “facial paralysis” which could potentially jeopardize shows. Pretty extreme stuff. So where is the line drawn? How much is too much touring?

M SHADOWS: I understand where you are coming from but truthfully we will tour until we don’t wanna tour anymore. People are gonna get sick, things are gonna happen and it can happen on the road or while we are sitting at home. We toured City of Evil for almost 2 years, and we are only 1 year into this cycle.

My vocal problem turned out not to be over usage. If you remember I had 3 weeks off after the Maiden tour to rest and somewhere in that time home my voice got fucked up. People wanna say I blew it out at the Kerrang show because I was so drunk. The only reason I was drunk was because I knew my voice was in big trouble well before that show, so I drank a lot to try and loosen it up and hopefully get through the show. I got through that show but by the time Reading and Leeds came around I could barely sing more then 5 notes, and thanks to YOUTUBE we can all see just how bad it was.

I went home and the doctors told me to shut up for 3 weeks, so I did and it just made it worse, so getting back on the road and taking things easy from show to show is actually good for my voice. From Japan all the way to today I’m getting closer and closer everyday to getting my voice back to where it was. But Im still taking some parts easy live to make sure I don’t get back in that situation, which to the 6 doctors that I’ve been seeing and myself has been a mystery to us in the first place. As for the facial paralysis, I’m still waiting to get tests back from my MRI’s that I had this weekend, but doctors expect it to be some sort of TMJ which I would get from singing and using my jaw too much. Hopefully my jaw is just out of line and causing paralysis and I can get it fixed in jan when we take a month off. But the point is, shit happens, no one is making us do this against our will, we love touring and we are very happy right now.

When are you coming back to the UK?

M SHADOWS: After a new record is recorded.

Why does the band insist on repeatedly making promises to fans in the United Kingdom and Europe which it has no intention of keeping? Does it not feel that it should honour its promises or is it acceptable to betray fans time and again?

M SHADOWS: Betray fans is a little harsh. Just like everything in life things happen sometimes out of our control. As for this situation I wanna give you all a little information. Now this is in no way making excuses for other tours we may have cancelled which you may or may not be holding onto some sort of resentment. This is for the future touring in 09 which we said we would do. We did the Maiden tour, which was a HUGE success for us, expecting to be able to come back in Feb. and replay all the markets we had hit with them as a headliner. Once we started booking dates our agent came to us and told us promoters didn’t want Avenged in the market place unless we were willing to do 300 – 700 capacity clubs throughout Europe. They felt the economy was so bad and they were losing money on so many other shows that they weren’t willing to take a chance on a band that they didn’t know about.

Last time I checked in Scandinavia, Spain and other parts of Europe, we had an amazing crowd response. So they went to the label in those markets and since our record is a year old they also had no interest in helping out the promoters and advertising the dates. We had already spent well over a quarter million dollars to do the Maiden tour with travel and crew expenses that came straight out of our pockets and we promised ourselves as a band we would never spend money out of our own pocket to tour any market again.

If you think about it, Avenged can go anywhere from south America, to Canada, to the states, to the UK and to Southeast Asia and Japan and play to thousands and thousands of kids every night, so to go play to 300 kids and go further in debt just makes no sense. So we fired our agent and went to the promoter directly and the answer was still the same. So hence, no more European tour. I know in my heart of hearts that Spain, Scandinavia, and Portugal would all be insane huge shows. But until people wanna book the shows, they just wont happen.

Also, the reason we aren’t coming back to the UK is that we had a falling out with the label there. They didn’t work any of our singles properly, they leaked music videos to the states and fucked up release dates for us. They basically blew their load on a bunch of shit and now nothing has happened since the last time we were there, so the band and myself feel it’s best to do a new record and then make it one of the first spots we hit. Most of the people at the label have been replaced since all this went down, so hopefully things will go more smoothly in the future. I know this may not make sense to some of you but the reality is this is how it all works, no label support, no promoter, no shows. It will get worked out and people in Europe will catch on but it’s just taking longer then virtually every other market in the world.

Will you ever add any songs off Diamonds in the Rough to the setlist?

M SHADOWS: Yeah I think so

 

30 Comments so far
Leave a comment

did you guys read all the questions on the ch4 website? he said that they added chapter 4 to the set list. i can die happy!! haha…no joke!

Comment by junior

I’m British and I am actually devastated to the point of tears about them not returning until the new album is recorded. I’m sick of their label fucking us UK fans around, it isn’t fair on us and it’s not fair on the band. They’re going to lose a lot of support because they’re not coming back to see us which in turn will cause these large venues they want to play to not sell out because the fans are just sick of being fucked over which in turn will cause us to get fucked over even more because they’ll just stop coming back altogether.

On a brighter note, glad to hear that some DITR tracks will eventually be on a setlist, I’m hoping for Until The End myself.

Comment by Vanessa

yeah junior i read the whole thing and i can die happy too b/c they just played it at my show in baltimore! when it started i was like NO WAY..then i proceeded to go apeshit in the pit. and i’d really like to see them play girl i know, syn already basically plays the solo and it’s a fun song.

Comment by Court

Thanks, Iain and Michael!

Oh, man… if they added DITR tracks, I’d be ecstatic. Until The End would most surely bring me to tears, because it already usually does that if I’m in the right mood; live it would just kill me. In the most wonderful way. <33

Now that Chapter Four is on the setlist I’m stoked. My friend’s band once did a cover of it–very good, might I add–and brought me up to finish the rest after he forgot some of the words. [It was a last-minute decision of the band to play it. XDD] So that song kinda means something special to me, now. :]

Anyway! Glad to hear his facial paralysis thing probably isn’t anything serious.
And is it just me, or does Matt seem like one of the easiest people to just sit down and talk to? I’d love to have a conversation about everything and nothing with him, someday. :D

Comment by Atrum

oh and junior i saw your comment about blinded in chains…i agree, that song would be out of this world live

Comment by Court

it’s a bad news for the E.U another one broken promises…avenged are awesome but they don’t like their EU fans ….

we’ll wait until 2015 for avenged in france..lol

thanks DB news!!
see ya
Stan of A7XFR website

Comment by Stan of A7X FRANCE

I wanna say that i know for a fact that A7x has a huge fan bace here in scandinavia and in Sweden especially, the freakin promoters are real idiots if they think that they cant make a buck out of a show here, it sucks A-hole that they cant play here and i totally understand. they shoulnt have to pay out of their own pockit. I had a blast to finally being able to see them this summer when they opend for Maiden,even if it wasnt a headlingin show it kicked ass. I guess i have to wait a little longer then to see them next time, but they better come back though!

Comment by Mia

I have to completely agree with everything Matt said. Having been in the business and booking gigs for bands, i know that you have to pay a lot out of pocket, hoping to get the money back in, and with a huge stage show they have and the amount of people needed and travelling with them…yeah!
Plus: they have had gigs in the UK over the summer, why are people pissed off that they’re not coming back until a new album is out? You had your chance!Hell, I am in Australia and was happy to see they camne out here AT ALL!
Touring with the same album well over a year is only exciting that long as well. Let the guys record some new stuff, and everyone will be pleased once they do head out on tour again.

As much as we love ’em, the guys have their own lives as well and I believe they have put themselves out there quite a bit over the last year and longer.

Comment by Proverb of Hell

omg court….ill fucking be so happy if they play those two songs live at the next show! omg….you have no idea. im STILL waiting for them to play my all time ALL TIME favorite song “trashed and scattered” ive only heard it ONCE live and i went absolutely insane. i WISH theyd play it again. if there was a set list with blinded in chains, chapter four and trashed and scattered i dont think id be able to contain myself! LOL

Comment by junior

and stan, did you read what he said? avenged loves ALL THEIR FANS. its not that they dont like a certain group of fans, thats not fair to say. they love all their fans, its trickier than it seems to book a show they cant just hop the pond and bash down the doors to some venue and say “hay let us play here tomorrow” its not a simple process. theyre doing all they can. :/ and they love every fan.

Comment by junior

I actually want to cry… I know someone who works for Warner Bros in the UK.. I’m going to rip him a new one on behalf of Avenged. I can’t wait that long, I physically CAN’T, you may as well ask me to stop breathing…

…as for DITR? Until The End would slay me, every time I listen to it I wonder what the hell made them leave it off the record.

Comment by jojo

Im gutted I cant see them again, I’ve only seen them once (Janurary 08). Then again they’re the only concert ive ever been to cause I live in Jersey and no bands play over here. I mean literally none.

I’ve heard them say before they dont like coming to the UK anyway, so I cant imagine them actually being all that fussed about not coming..theyve been my favourite band for years, but Im just stating the facts..

Comment by HannarghlovesA7X

all im going to say to the UK fans is this: they love you. and they will not let you down.

i cant say that like on behalf of the band cuz ive only met them as a fan twice and i dont know them personally, BUT its been my experience that those men…fucking love us (us being fans in general) and they…have NOT ONCE let me down. i get all sad and upset cuz they dont have a date near me, and then its like BAM they make it up to you. A7X will tour, and tour, and tour, and tour for a very very long time. its what they love to do. you will see them again. :)

Comment by junior

It’s good to know junior, they’ve stood me up twice now and I’ve recovered.. I know it’s not their fault but it effing breaks my heart at the time. After they pulled out of the Reading Festival I couldn’t even listen to any songs for about a week.. I thought I’d lost the faith, and considering 3 of my 5 tattoos are Avenged related I’d say that’s chaos!

I’ll be in Cali in two years anyway… it’s all about Mohammed and mountains init :D

Comment by jojo

yep i’m offically fucked off :) let down AGAIN. The next tour in the UK best be fucking good… not that it won’t be cause it’s sevenfold. That was the only thing i was looking forward to next year; when will it come? PLEASE don’t say i have to wait until 2010.

Comment by Kate

they said, well Matt said they will do a UK tour the second the album has been recorded. my guess would be, and this is just a fans educated guess; that they will do THIS US tour right now that ends in FEB. ONE MORE US tour, then hit the recording studio in summer. by fall or winter of 2009, is when i think the UK will get a visit. again, this is just my THEORY and im just a FAN. just saying, i dont think the UK fans will have to wait till 2010 for a Sevenfold show…

Comment by junior

I think this guy (the interviewer) asked the last question without thinking in lands that A7X hasn’t even walked on.
I mean, I’m from Argentina, when I first read that A7X were heading South America, I started jumping and pumping my ass out with blasting woofers listening to Avenged Sevenfold, but when I saw they visited Chile and Brazil, my entire world broke down. We were all dissapointed, but hey! Life’s going on, and I don’t think they BETRAYED me because they played in my neighbour countries. You can say that a band betrayed you when they have stolen a song from you or things like that, what he said is bullshit.

Comment by SLaSHBA

I KNOW i’ll have to wait til 2010 look what happened with their self entitled album; we had to wait another year until they’d finished that! It’s just unfair what they’re doing; get well soon shads an’all but jees stop letting us UK kids down.

Comment by Kate

I’m so honored that Matt mentioned my country, Portugal.
But right now I’m devastated because they’re not coming to Europe until the new record…
I totally understand what Matt said and I think he’s right, though.
Still, my heart heart is broken.
A7X for life <3

Comment by MasterOfTheWicked

“I got through that show but by the time Reading and Leeds came around I could barely sing more then 5 notes, and thanks to YOUTUBE we can all see just how bad it was.”
—- haha u can tell he’s all sarcastic there lol

Comment by boo

kate; read this direct quote from M.Shadows himself: “Also, the reason we aren’t coming back to the UK is that we had a falling out with the label there. They didn’t work any of our singles properly, they leaked music videos to the states and fucked up release dates for us. They basically blew their load on a bunch of shit and now nothing has happened since the last time we were there, so the band and myself feel it’s best to do a new record and then make it one of the first spots we hit. Most of the people at the label have been replaced since all this went down, so hopefully things will go more smoothly in the future. I know this may not make sense to some of you but the reality is this is how it all works, no label support, no promoter, no shows. It will get worked out and people in Europe will catch on but it’s just taking longer then virtually every other market in the world.”

Comment by junior

Avenged Sevenfold are coming back to the UK when they complete recording their new album!.I never got too see them live before and i think now im getting the chance!.My dream will hopefully come true.A7X for life!.

Comment by AoifeMcEvoy

Goodness sake!
I saw them in jan 30th at glasgow in scotland 2008.
n OMG what a show!
I am devistated they are not coming back until a new record is recorded! This is just as bad as the time where i was suposed to meet them on the 30th but the stupid people who orginised the meet n greet thing fucked it up.
I THOUGHT ONCE THE DIAMONDS IN THE ROUGH CD/DVD CAME out they would come back.
Well…i guess all we can do is wait..and come on people you gotta help n getting them to make more dates for scotland! Trust me..they will sell out just as well as england. WOOT
AVENGED SEVENFOLD! (L) xx

Comment by Marr W

i dont think a7x are bothered about not coming to the uk or europe seens as they hate us all so much and think the girls in the uk are ugly!!
people should check out the phone interview on youtube!! i was shocked when i heard what matt had 2 say about the uk especially the girls!!!!!

Comment by Eleanor

Avenged Sevenfold are the best rock/heavy metal band in the world!..we all have to understand that we must let them record a new album or record because we would like to hear more music from them the avantanges of this is they will have a new album then after that return to the U.K and this is possible that they will perform new songs at the shows (;

Comment by AoifeMcEvoy

I am from the UK & tbh their bloody label needs to sort themselves out. Avenged Sevenfold are the most amazing band ever and i REALLY wanna go see them ASAP !
Their gonna loose fans AGAIN in the UK if their label doesnt buck their ideas up.
But as Matt said…They’ve faired alot of the guys who worked there so things may go more smoothly in the future….
I’m abit pissy that they have to make a whole NEW album before they come here but thats life….
Cant wait till they come back…
A7XForever ! <3

Comment by Samiee

will avenged sevenfold be touring the uk in 2010? i really want to see then asap. whats with all the cancelling of shows.i dont want them to loose fans but they are guna if this carry’s on. i think they are such a talented and amazing band i have been a fan about five years so its a pain everytime i try to see them in show n i cant. please let me know whats going on
thanks
A7X4LIFE<3

Comment by michelle

reaaallly want them to come to cardiff i hate not being able to travel to see bands nearly every week theres a band playing but some where too far away it just costs to much money which i dont have id do anythink to go see them i mean im in college and we get paid shhit money, im trying to find a job to get money to do things like travel to see bands plus itd be cool to see the world. Itd just be amazing if they came to cardiff and i had the chance to see one of my favourite bands who ive loved for ages id never forget it .a7x 4lyf <3xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Comment by sabz

“I know in my heart of hearts that Spain, Scandinavia, and Portugal would all be insane huge shows.” please come back to Portugal plz

Comment by Syn

In one moth im finaly seeing A7X in flesh i cant wait, but no VIP’s went on sale, Would of payed pritty much anything to meet you guy’s. Your biggest fan Jenno!

Comment by scott jennings




Leave a Reply

