Deathbat News


Fans And Non-Fans Alike Comment On Avenged Sevenfold’s Dublin Set.
August 2, 2009, 11:25 am
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Live, News, Reviews

An official review of Avenged Sevenfold’s Dublin set at Marlay Park hasn’t been found but but I did come across a few people that attended the show and commented on the bands performance all across the spectrum. Check ’em out:

“I did catch a few Avenged Sevenfold tracks, and whilst their recorded work is dour, they actually put on a really good show. They didn’t get booed by the Metallica fans, they actually egged on the crowd and were quite fun. They got a teenager from the crowd to sing a verse of Walk by Pantera (by popular request), and to everyone’s surprise the guy was a really good vocalist. So Avenged Sevenfold have gone up in my estimation, not that I’ll be listening to them or owt.”

“Avenged Sevenfold – Regardless of their high stature on here , i stuck around to watch them. Their sound was also terrible , couldnt make out the guitars and the bass was up too loud again. The thing i will give them credit for is the singer – Great voice and presence onstage , n fair fucks to that kid that got up and sang the whole first verse of Walk, not a bother on him.”

“Avenged Sevenfold – Was fairly hammered for the start of these, didnt really care about them. After a while i went down to the front, the singer has some scream on him! They put a fair bit of effort into the performance…im sure the fans enjoyed it anyways!!!! ”

“Avenged Sevenfold werent bad, sound was a bit dodgy and the singer has been watching Axl Rose too much.”

“A7X are not my thing but it’s not hard to see why the kids love ’em and that’s fair enough.”

“Avenged Sevenfold are rubbish but their vocalist sings well live. A lot better than some singers in bands I actually like….I’m thinking of guys liks Warrell Dane who can be ropey live at times.”

“A7X had problems with the low ends all the way through their set. Everytime they hit the bass drum or floor tom, there was a horrible drone. a pity, cos they are generally great live. they still put on a great show. HUGE circle pit for unholy confessions.”

“As for Avenged in my opinion they did an amazing job too despite the ignorance of certain crowd members. They got on stage and put on a good show for their fans and anyone else who wanted to listen. They interacted with the crowd and played an amazing set. In comparison I have to say, again in my opinion, that Mastodon did the complete oppistite. While I accept that again they suffered sound issues, never once did they say a word to the crowd. This is all simply my opinion but I honestly do think that Avenged put on a better show than the more popular (at that gig from the obvious crowd rection) Mastodon and are due this credit at least.”

“I’m not into Avenged but there set sorta won me over, i enjoyed it, especially that Russel kid on Walk”

“Avenged Sevenfold I enjoyed. Shadows has a good ol voice on him haha.”

“A7X, enjoyed them, very entertained.”

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

avenged in dublin was amazing. They played chapter four and eternal rest which i did not expect they blew me away!! The rev didn’t seem to sing back ups if he did then his mic wasnt on. I got matt an ireland jersey with his name printed on the back he loved it showed it to the crowd and they went mental! They then chanted for him to put it on, he did then personally thanked me and blew me a kiss. They made my year.

Comment by Marie v

You got him that jersey? That was awesome! So glad you had a great time and an equally great experience!

Comment by deathbatnews

Hahah! I was wondering about the wardrobe change.

Well done with that gift. :)

Comment by Jenn

That was an cool thing to do..give him that shirt !!!!

Comment by inge

This is what I like. You don’t have to love the guys or their music – just give them some damn respect for being good at what they do.

Comment by Jenn

Woops put the wrong url in the last one!

Comment by Marie v

Marieee ! you did an amazing job on the jersey …!!!! Zack totally saw my VU flag and was all: awesssoomeee

i agree with all the reviews! Bass was too loud but still unrea! that russel kid was amazing XD

Comment by mon




Leave a Reply

