Deathbat News


Slash, “This Particular Song Is One Of The Best Songs I’ve Heard [M Shadows] Do.”
March 20, 2010, 5:24 pm
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold

It’s basically the same thing we’ve heard before. Publications asking Slash how “Nothing To Say” was born with M Shadows on vocals, but he pays the Avenged Sevenfold front-man a nice compliment so check out the excerpt from this Ultimate Guitar interview below. You can also check out session note’s of Voices (With Nothing To Say) With Matt (Avenged Sevenfold) here, , and here.

“Nothing to Say” is Slash going metal. Avenged Sevenfold’s M. Shadows does the vocal here and your playing is pretty brutal.
We’re managed by the same people and I had this one idea that was all this duga duga duga duga duga duga [mimics fast metal lick] and that’s something I’ve always wanted to do. I’m a huge Megadeth and Metallica fan and I can’t do it in Velvet and it definitely wasn’t gonna happen in Guns. I was like, “OK, I wanna do this song and who is gonna sing it?” Dave Mustaine came to mind and it would have been awesome with Dave but at the same time I had Ozzy and Iggy and Lemmy that sort of represented a certain generation. And I had Ian Astbury and stuff so I didn’t want to go too sort of my generation and fill it all up that way. So the idea of Sevenfold came from management and I was really familiar with them so I thought, “Let’s give it a shot and see what happens.”

What do you think of M. Shadows’ performance?
I think he brought his A game to the table. I think this particular song is one of the best songs I’ve heard him do. Melodic.

Thank you to Dafna for pointing this out!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s really unprofessional on Slash’s behalf, honestly. I don’t like his attitude and the way he says Shadows was just kind of “there” and used him as a last resort.

Comment by Zack

Uhh…he wasn’t a “last resort”…like Slash said, he was thinking up of people. Matt was the first person he called for the song.

Comment by Francis

Oh fuck off and pull the stick out of your ass, he complimented shadows and said it like it was, he didnt write the song and go MMM M SHADOWS FROM A7X SHUD DO VOCALZ.

Comment by Anonymous

Pretty sure it says management suggested Shadows. Do you know why? Because they’re under the same management.

Feel free to pull the stick out of YOUR ass and learn how to read while you’re at it. Oh, and grow some balls and post under a real name.

Comment by Zack

Social comments and analytics for this post…

This post was mentioned on Twitter by deathbatnews: Slash, “I Think This Is One Of The Best Songs I’ve Heard [M Shadows] Do.”: http://wp.me/p907c-UQ

Trackback by uberVU - social comments

Yeah, I agree with Zack. Kind of like he’s saying “The song he works on for ME sounds best I’ve heard him do.”

Comment by Jonny




Leave a Reply

