Deathbat News


Avenged Sevenfold Mentioned In Pantera’s Look Back At 20 Years Of “Walk.”
May 22, 2012, 9:05 am
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Interviews, News, Publications

SPIN Magazine have published an article where members of Pantera take a look back on 20 years of their song “Walk.” Bassist Rex Brown and drummer Vinnie Paul mentioned Avenged Sevenfold in a few answers. DBN DISCUSSION: If you could pick any other Pantera song for Avenged Sevenfold to cover and record what would it be?

“Walk” inspired bands like Sepultura and Machine Head to add a grooving lilt to their sound, and ultimately spawned full-on demon children in Avenged Sevenfold and Lamb of God.

Do any cover versions of the song stand out to you?
Brown: It’s probably one of the most covered songs in our catalog. I know for sure that Avenged Sevenfold did it. Jesus Christ, everybody in the book has covered that song, just because it’s a really good anthem. So it’s flattering.

But do you like any?
Brown: [Pauses] No. I like our version better. [Laughs]
Paul: I appreciate everybody that’s ever done it. But you ain’t gonna top the original, man. [Laughs]

[……….]

When was the last time you played “Walk”?
Brown: I’ll get up and jam with a band from time to time, and they’ll go, “Hey man, you wanna play ‘Walk’?” And I go, “No, but I will.” It’s just one of those things, after 12 years of playing that song, you just play it. It’s just one of those things you have to get motivated for. It’s a part of show business, bud. Gotta give the kids what they want.
Paul: I’ve played it with just about every band that will come through Dallas. I’ve played it with Disturbed, Anthrax, Avenged Sevenfold. I played it with Steel Panther the other night in L.A. It’s still fun to play those songs from time to time.

22 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’d have to go with “Cemetery Gates.”

Comment by deathbatnews

I have to agree, and fucking hostile and god damn electric

Comment by james

That would my request too!

Comment by fatboy1271 (@fatboy1271)

That would be epic.

Comment by Anne Stenslien

id have to agree, i can see m shadows just killin it

Comment by Andrew D

I’d like to see a cover of Cowboys From Hell.

A7X also did a really good cover of Mouth For War at the Golden Gods last year.

Comment by Mattie DeathBat

“Cowboys From Hell” would have been my second choice.

Comment by deathbatnews

Cowboys From hell!

Comment by Anonymous

Definitely Cemetery Gates, Fucking Hostile and This Love. That would be awesome!

Comment by Kelly

Love to see them cover Drag The Waters :)

I don’t think Vinnie ever played Walk with A7X though… correct me if I’m wrong but he’s only played with them once. And that was Mouth for War.

Comment by Mike

maybe during a jam session?

Comment by MPa

this site is really great, keep the good work, enter here every day to read a reliable source of news just make my day happy :)

Comment by Gallo

I second that!

Comment by Anne Stenslien

I would love to hear my boys rendition of Cemetery Gates!!

Comment by Sian

Cowboys From Hell, Cemetery Gates, and Mouth for War (seen them perform that song live last yr at the Revolver GGA and they did really good)

Comment by Forever Avenged

HOLLOW too!

Comment by Forever Avenged

Domination

Comment by MPa

There are a good few pantera songs I don’t think A7X could entirely pull off, but I bet they’d make an amazing Cemetary Gates. Also would love to hear Revolution is my Name

Comment by Anonymous

10’s or floods. floods = epic

Comment by Anonymous

Cemetary Gates, Floods, or Hollow would be amazing!

Comment by francyA7X

Domination….I can totally hear Phil Anselmo’s influence on Matt on that song

Comment by Kenny Vengeance

Ohhh I Definitely Got To Go With Cemetery Gates But I Really Think They Would Do It Amazingly With 5 Minutes Alone Too! :)

Comment by aleja_a7x_colombia




Leave a Reply

