Deathbat News


Ottawa’s 106.9 The Bear Interviews Arin Ilejay: “Get Ready For A New Kind Of Epic.”
July 19, 2013, 5:20 pm
Filed under: Arin Ilejay, Avenged Sevenfold, Interviews, News

Amy Volume from Ottawa’s The Bear 106.9 spoke with Arin Ilejay while Avenged Sevenfold are in Mt. Pleasant, MI for tonight’s show to talk about playing Heavy MTL, what his “gun show” situation is like, Avenged Sevenfold’s sound being a “constant evolution” and what direction the band were going in with “Hail To The King,” why he’s thankful to visit Canada and more. When asked his opinion on the heaviest song on the album Arin describes “This Means War” as “the heaviest, just very.. just driving. Very heavy-hitting, very open and just huge huge sounding for sure.” He also prepares fans for “Hail The King” saying, “get ready for a new kind of epic. A new kind of epic and heaviness that’s going to drive you to a place of revelation about life.”

Submitted by Kyle.

19 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A place of revelation about life..

Comment by jAyDana

We got pretty deep!! Haha. I always, ALWAYS ask drummers how much they can lift – in case I need help moving. :}

Comment by Amy Volume

Arin sounds like a cool dude. One of the first interviews I’ve heard with him… definitely hoping we get a couple more songs before the album is officially released. I need to put my mind at ease. :-)

Comment by Z.Burns

I’d rather be teased with previews. Will make listening to the full album start to finish on August 27th that much more exciting.

Comment by Deathbat News

Maybe one more song? haha and the rest can be teasers.

Comment by O-H

Maybe one more for you, O-H. None for me.

Comment by Deathbat News

I’m not sure which I’d prefer haha. Part of me wants full songs, the other part wants just previews. All of me wants the full album asap :-/ It’s quite the dilemma.

Comment by Z.Burns

Agreed! I like to throw new albums on from start to finish and experience it as a whole too. I’d rather get teases as well, because I remember having already listened to half of “Nightmare” pre-album release and that took away from it. I like your style DBN :)

Comment by thomasgwhaley

Comment by Deathbat News

Arin definitely sounds like a cool dude. And the album definitely sounds like it’s going to be epic. Can’t wait.

Comment by alanman123

Cool interview. Arin seems like a proper laid-back guy and I’m glad he’s part of the band.

Comment by Kieran

Arin is so adorable, I’m so happy he’s doing interviews and stuff now and is becoming truly part of the band in all ways. ^_^

Comment by Dianna

I really cant wait for this Album and after hearing this im even more excited! and Yes I will be foaming at the mouth when the Album comes out C: Arin sounds like a cool guy!

Comment by Michelle

I’m really glad that they have Arin doing interviews. I was worried that he might be “the replacement drummer” who doesn’t really do anything other than play on stage. It’s nice to see that he is a part of the family.

Comment by SynVanSambora

His voice sounds a bit like Syn’s

Comment by Leonardo Melo

I was thinking that as well. I didn’t want to say anything so I’m glad you said it, haha! :)

Comment by Ellie

I thought the same thing immediately lol

Comment by steph

Great interview, but this woman clearly didn’t do any prior research beforehand. lol. Was kind of embarrassing.

Comment by armyoftigers

I was supposed to be interviewing someone else. This changed last minute. Also, you wouldn’t believe the amount of stuff I have to do in a small amount of time with zero notice.
Sincerely, a very “not embarrassed” radio DJ.

Comment by Amy Volume




Leave a Reply

