Deathbat News


Avenged Sevenfold’s “Shepherd Of Fire” To Appear In Call Of Duty: Black Ops II: Apocalypse.
August 8, 2013, 12:35 pm
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Call Of Duty

Avenged Sevenfold are lending their song “Shepherd Of Fire” from the new album “Hail To The King” to Call Of Duty: Black Ops II to be used in the final DLC pack “Apocalypse.” The song will be featured in the cinematic intro video for “Origins.” The pack will be available on August 27th to Xbox Live first with other platforms following.

UPDATE (8/20): Treyarch has unveiled the opening cinematic to it’s new Zombie experience, “Origins,” part of Call Of Duty: Black Ops II: Apocalypse. The intro piece features Avenged Sevenfold’s “Shepherd Of Fire” off the new album “Hail To The King” which is streaming on iTunes now. The “Apocalypse” DLC will be available on August 27th through Xbox Live.

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Damn, I thought it would had been available before the release.

Comment by JJL

Another reason I shouldn’t have sold my console for college expenses…Still, Hail to the King! \m/

Comment by Amador

Even more Call of Duty DLCs to get, my goodness! They were actually the entire reason I started playing Call of Duty…

Comment by Kuroneko

So does that mean Shepherd plays during the actual level Origins intro video, right before you start playing? I just checked the actual Origins trailer that came out yesterday and thought i was about to hear greatness lol.

Comment by Aust

And greatness it is.

Comment by Deathbat News

Fuck yes. It’s a killer song. Very Metallica/Megadeth-thrashy!

Comment by Dr Thriller

Indeed! Crazy song!

Comment by Zeke

How have so many people heard it already? haha

Comment by O-H

Warner Bros Records in Finland, Helsinki and Mexico have all hosted listening parties for a portion of the album.

Comment by Deathbat News

If Treyarch releases the intro video for the zombies map like they have done for the past few maps then we may get to hear the song early. Otherwise it won’t make much of a difference because the map pack comes out the same day as the album.

Comment by Mike

I’m going to preface this by saying I love Avenged Sevenfold. They are my favorite band BY FAR. I’ve listened to them and only them for the past few months while hyping Hail to the King, which I can’t wait for. BUT, I hate seeing them market their music like this. Sure, it’s great publicity and great marketing to be honest, but Call of Duty is the epitome of cookie-cutter content. It’s essentially the same thing with slight variations released every year to make massive profits. Call of Duty’s philosophy represents everything Avenged Sevenfold doesn’t, in my opinion. A7X is about taking time to put out the best content possible, not pleasing critics, and not caring what people think about them. It’s cool that they market their music, I just with it was marketed towards a different demographic than Call of Duty fanboys, who are mostly 11-16 year old ignorant children. I’ve played Call of Duty a bunch, and have grown tired of it. It is everything Avenged is not. Sorry for the rant, but this kinda disappoints me. I’m still so excited for the album, though. Especially Shepherd of Fire.

Comment by O-H

Well said my friend… I was disappointed when I realized this too

Comment by MrTooLong

Call of Duty is Shadows’ favorite game….

Comment by Anonymous

Hey! It’s you from reddit!

Comment by Zeke

Haha yup it is! Hey!

Comment by O-H

I agree but I’m used to it now, since they’ve done it every year since 2010. Plus we’ve gotten two songs out of it, and even if I don’t like Carry On too much, it’s new music that we probably wouldn’t have gotten otherwise. It’s nice enough that they wrote those 2 new songs instead of using album cuts. But I do wish they’d push their music with another brand if they had to.

Comment by Brian

This is just like 2010. Single Nightmare Black Ops package trailer came with Welcome To The Family. 2013 Single Hail To The King Black Ops 2 trailer Shepherd Of Fire.

Comment by TOFWH




Leave a Reply

