Deathbat News


Zacky Vengeance Talks To Lehigh Valley’s The Morning Call.
August 11, 2013, 8:46 am
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Interviews, Zacky Vengeance

Zacky Vengeance talked to Lehigh Valley’s  The Morning Call about taking the next step with “Hail To The King,” the pressure of making “Nightmare” after losing Jimmy “The Rev” Sullivan, playing for the troops in Iraq and Kuwait, and more.

Vengeance says that with “Hail to the King,” Avenged Sevenfold made a conscious decision to return to basic heavy metal music.

“With ‘Hail to the King,’ what we really focused on is looking at all the bands that made us love heavy metal and all of the reasons within those songs that we love heavy metal and hard rock,” he says. “A lot of those songs, they’re so heavy and so powerful, yet they maintain a lot more simplistic elements that we really tried incorporating.

“You know, we all got carried away and started over-complicating the drums, and adding tons of vocal harmonies. And this time, we just focused on more straight-forward heavy-metal hard rock in a classic sense: Huge drums, really powerful guitars, ripping your face vocals and wailing guitar solos. I mean, that’s really what it really all comes down to. That’s kind of the core of heavy metal hard rock.”

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

August 27th can’t get here soon enough!!

Comment by Patrick

One of the things I liked most about Avenged Sevenfold is that a lot of their songs are so complex, and the vocal harmonies are good (in my opinion). I hope this album isn’t TOO simple. They contradict themselves when they say in one interview that they’re going back to their core, but then they say they’re simplifying everything, and they looked for alternatives to dueling guitars. What? That IS your core! Regardless, I think I’ll still love this album.

I mean take City of Evil, for example – it’s like every song was 2 or 3 songs put together, and it sounded brilliant to me. And that was the album they’re known for. But now they say they’re returning to the core and simplifying everything? Saying they got “carried away”? All these interviews make it sound they’re trying to hard to be like another band (classic rock bands), but they should be focused on making their own sound. Almost every hater of A7X I’ve seen on the internet says that they don’t like Avenged Sevenfold because they sound too much like (fill in the blank here). Well now they’ll have a valid argument.

Comment by Rdog

I think you’ll still love this album.

Comment by Deathbat News

I’ve been a fan of A7X for as long as I can remember and I believe what they mean by “going back to their core” is looking back at their influences. I truly think they’ve always managed to have that A7X sound they’re known for in every song and Hail to the king is no exception. It just has more of a classic Heavy metal sound. And in my opinion I think it has a lot of metallica in it. Moreover, I heard This means war is their heaviest song on the album and I have a feeling it’s gonna sound Pantera-ish which makes me really excited, but maybe it wont sound like that, who knows?
Hail To The King \m/

Comment by Ace Alshawaf




Leave a Reply

