Deathbat News


Classic Rock Magazine Gives Avenged Sevenfold’s “Hail To The King” An 8 Out Of 10.
August 14, 2013, 4:43 am
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Hail To The King, Reviews

Classic Rock Magazine (August 2013) review Avenged Sevenfold’s new album “Hail To The King” and give it an 8 out of 10.

(Click for fullsize)

55 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like the read into the album, giving a little more insight.

Comment by xGunslinger7 (@mleasure7)

“Not in same league as Limb Biscuit”? haha FECK OFF

Comment by wp_rathead

They meant as far as people hating them. People have alot of hatred for Metallica and Limp Biskit.

Comment by chris

well said..

Comment by fadelgates

gonna be honest, i misread that too.

Comment by Thierry Arrieta

I didn’t know that there was a track on Hail to the King called Crimson Fire. It’s hard to take this article seriously when the author makes obvious errors.

Comment by Matt

Just what I was thinking. I remember some idiot giving “Nightmare” a 2 out of 10 and saying the only good song was “Nightmare” haha

Comment by xGunslinger7 (@mleasure7)

That’s because there honestly has been only a handful of good songs on the last 2 albums. This one looks like it will be the best one since COE.

Comment by Anonymous

The s/t was weak, yes, but Nightmare was a much better album. That said, I am looking forward to this more than any since CoE.

Comment by moridin94

Do you know what, I really don’t care what Classic Rock think. It’s a great magazine, but I am going to get the album regardless. They are entitled to their opinion. This is a good review, but come on guys this is a magazine that says Limp Bizkit and Slipknot are the saviours of metal. Deathbats, come together.

Comment by HailToTheKingOfficial

…they gave it an 8/10, I’m not sure what you’re complaining about.

Comment by Anonymous

Blah blah blah apparently this dude has issues dont matter wat he writes we all know who the king is!!!!

Comment by Jim

I’m just thirsty for any information about what we’re about to experience, and I think it would do well if we were all appropriately prepared. :)

Comment by ClarksvilleOHIO

Being surprised is a hell of a lot of fun too. :)

Comment by Deathbat News

Haha well played Miss DBN. I suppose I can enjoy the wait. :)

Comment by ClarksvilleOHIO

You can’t take this article seriously..

Comment by Matt

He called them emo too… hahahahaha

Comment by Ryan

At one point when they started out as a band they kinda were… Listen to the lyrics in STST

Comment by Anonymous

Again, another review describing the songs! This time all but Heretic and Coming Home are reviewed. With just from what I’ve read, I’m really looking forward to hearing:
Shepherd of Fire (Maybe Activision gives us at least a trailer of the new CoD DLC to showcase the song a little earlier than release.)
This Means War (And I hope it’s heavier or as heavy as God Hates Us)
Requiem (I like the “Rock opera” description)
Planets (Love dystopian sci-fi)
Acid Rain (I like ballads)

Comment by StitchRS

Judging by the interviews I’ve read and listened, I think Doing Time, Heretic and Coming Home are going to be the album’s rare gems, as the band barely talks about them. I’m pumped to hear Planets, Doing Time and Requiem.

Comment by Sunsha

Doing Time sounds to be Guns ‘N Roses with a little screaming, and with the Iron Maiden feel of Coming Home, well I can definitely say yes to that. If I had to narrow it down to the two I’d love to hear most, it’d be This Means War and Planets.

A question for DBN: Will you be doing a page for each individual song for user reviews like you did with Nightmare?

Comment by StitchRS

There will be one discussion post for the entire album.

Comment by Deathbat News

Jeez if I had to narrow it down to two songs I’m most excited for… This is tough haha. I’m gonna go with Requiem and Shepherd of Fire. Honorable mention to Acid Rain.

Comment by O-H

For me its Requiem and Planets….because thats the only samples I’ve heard and they both sound amazing

Comment by ZP

Agreed

Comment by Eh7x

Limp Bizkit? Wow I didnt realize that they have made a huge change in music history. Blah. Awful review.

Comment by Oj

The review is kind of meh. But 8/10 is still a very good score. Less than two weeks…

Comment by O-H

I don’t care what anyone says, I’m buying this record no matter what… These guys are about to change metal forever, and people just need to accept that. Hail to the King! \m/

Comment by SethMelvin

It’s interesting to read so many different view points.

Comment by Carmen Feuling

Why are people pretending an 8/10 is bad? That’s considered “great” by some rating standards. Music is so subjective anyway that it’s pointless to get too excited/down on any particular review. What’s important is that it provides valuable pieces of info on the songs!

Comment by Ron

100% agreed!

Comment by thomasgwhaley

I agree. 8 out of 10 is pretty damn good coming from a guy that sounds like he has no idea what hes talking about

Comment by ZP

Its crimson day not crimson fire!!!!

Comment by Gio

I feel like this guy couldn’t make up his mind when writing this article. He goes back and forth and ends with nothing? I’m not relying on this article whatsoever. In my opinion, I’d say Buried Alive was pretty close to being a power ballad, I guess this guy totally forgot about it. Still pumped to get the album though, can’t wait any longer!!! :)

Comment by Rob

Hail to the king = melodic thrash and speed freak guitar solos?? I can’t take the article seriously with such inaccurate genre and musical descriptions. Interesting nonetheless. Dying to hear this album!!!!!!

Comment by Armando

And emo? Really? I definitely don’t think any of their songs come close to that.

Comment by Rob

Agreed!

Comment by Kat Weltz

i take it tease13 is requiem? :D

Comment by Dan

I’m missing the part of this review where people are negatively interpreting it. He gave the album an 8/10, which is a very solid rating, especially for an album reviewer with absolutely no reason to appease A7X or their fans. He takes note of their multiple-genre influences, how they constantly change things up with different approaches to their albums, and how they stick to their morals despite the fact that they are (although also one of the most popular) one of the most hated bands of our generation. To me, it seems as if everything A7X strives for was well represented in this review.

Comment by thomasgwhaley

Very well said.

Comment by Dan

The name of the magazine is some indication of bias

Comment by Rdog

Well, I guess that teaser video (tease13, I think) is pretty definitely Requiem. I love hearing that they’re doing all this symphonic stuff. Symphonic metal is a very underrated genre, and when Avenged has dabbled in it before (Strength of the World, The Wicked End, IWSYT Part 1), they’ve done an excellent job.

And if Acid Rain is anything like Muse’s Exogenesis Symphony, I’m gonna be one happy camper come August 27th.

Comment by moridin94

That interview seemed like the author was more interested in using as many of the big words in his vocabulary to show us how smart he is instead of giving real insight on the album. Also, never compare Avenged to Limp Bizkit again. Ever. For any reason.

Comment by Mullet

Crimson Day scares me… pop metal ? REALLY? -.-
And of course Limp Bizkit… what? A7X is way better than LB, how can they even compare them -.-

Comment by lemur

wasnt Afterlife, Scream and a lot of the songs of Self Titled viewed as somewhat pop metal?

Comment by ZP

welcome to the family too.

Comment by joel

If you like A7X you probably like pop-metal lol. Beast and the Harlot, Betrayed, Afterlife, Gunslinger, Lost , WTTF to name some, all have some pop influence. It’s not a bad thing

Comment by Eh7x

he said swagger and limp bizkit in the same article. moving on….

Comment by xshagwagonx

Mentioned in the article is that A7X hasn’t yet grasped a particular music genre…really dude? What’s great about these guys is that they embrace many different genres and incorporate them into the sound and songs THEY want to write and that they want to perform live. Original in their approach to writing with a work ethic that is unmatched, and having seen these guys live 3 times so far, the production quality and level of devotion to fans also unmatched (comparing to 50+ other bands I’ve seen in my life so far).

Comment by Chris D. Castleberry

Self Titled album kicks ass. I don’t care what you say.

Comment by Revenant

Agreed, might even be my favorite album from them. smh.

Comment by Anonymous

Who cares about the pop metal things! The whole ST was pretty much pop metal, and I loved every bit of it! Avenged has never put out anything that I hated!!

Comment by SethMelvin

Happy to see an 8/10 for an opening review score. Pre-ordered this album, can’t wait to listen to it. I can only leech on “Hail to the King” for so long before wanting more new material haha, and that’s a track I’m growing more fond of with each listen. As for the review itself, there’s the odd point I disagreed with in the opening stanza there but the review itself seemed to be pretty good. Encouraging signs.

Comment by Anonymous

A7X and Muse…now that’s is something I would have never expected to read in the same sentence. But seeing how I like them both it should be good

Comment by Rad

Can’t waitt for the new album (: You guys never fail me <3
OCTOBER 11, 13 I WILL BE SEEING YOU GUYS ROCK OUT IN STL (:

Comment by enaaduv314




Leave a Reply

