Deathbat News


STFU: A Rock Essay By Lou Brutus Inspired By Avenged Sevenfold.
September 17, 2013, 5:41 am
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold

Lou Brutus has shared his thoughts on hate throughout the rock world in “STFU: A Rock Essay.” The essay, seemingly provoked by Robb Flynn’s recent drivel, was inspired by Avenged Sevenfold. You can read the entire piece here.

It’s happening again.

An album by a rock band takes the Number One spot on charts around the globe and how does the rock world react?

Like a bunch of jealous, little bitches.

What the hell is the matter with you people? You whine and moan that all of the sales and all of the media and all of the attention goes to a bunch of pre-fabricated pop idols, but then when one of your own actually does break thru, in this case Avenged Sevenfold, you race each another to your thesauruses to see who can come up with more variations on the word “sucks” to describe them.

In the pop world when someone breaks thru, everybody wants to work with him or her. They do duets; they show up on each other’s tracks. They work together figuratively and literally. In the rock world when someone breaks thru, too many people start looking for a hammer to nail them back down.

The fact that a lot of this bullshit comes from other rock musicians is mind-boggling. Instead of getting yourself all riled up and coming up with creative ways to crap on another musician, I have something better you can do. Take that energy and put it into making your own music better so that one day maybe you’ll have the success of the person you want to rag on so badly. Who knows? Maybe one day you’ll be so big that jackasses will blindly attack for no good reason, too.

20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nailed it.

Comment by Deathbat News

I got the weirdest b*ner.

Comment by Danny

I read the whole piece. Very well said. I’m tired of all the complaining. If you don’t like it, shut the —- up and listen to something else. Quit HATIN’!!!!!!

Comment by Anonymous

I loved this. It speaks my mind!! Hats off, Lou Brutus!

Comment by Patricia Puente Rdgz (@Sweettiepat)

Wow! Anybody got an address for this guy? I’d like to send him a “Thank You” card. LOL!! There’s a lot of ego and a lot of testosterone flowing through the rivers of the rock world and unfortunately the two don’t often mix well and you get all the smack talk. Kudos though to A7X for always being above the bitterness and pettiness of the mudslingers and haters and not getting pulled into these immature and ridiculous tantrums of others who that if they put as much effort into their own music and bands as they do talking crap about other people they might have a number one album of their own. Just sayin..

Comment by Christen

Well said

Comment by Daniel Sims

My thoughts exactly, Lou!

Comment by ♪ Gunslinger ♪ (@datwadia)

From start to end he hit the nail on the head..

Comment by Michelle

This is is best thing I have ever read.

Comment by Ryan

Whoa. I guess that’s why I haven’t seen any more reviews posted on this site since the album came out. It’s because they’re all bad.

Comment by Rdog

Nope. Reviews have been fine but I don’t post them after the album is out.

Comment by Deathbat News

I feel like I’m the only one who didn’t hear about this Robb Flynn thing.

Comment by Loghen

Truer words have never been spoken

Comment by andie316

Abso-fucking-lutely. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

Comment by Rob

And this is why I adore Lou Brutus.

Comment by spookshowbaby (@spookshowbaby)

I’m not surprised at this. It’s been going on for years. Cheers Mr. Brutus for having the fucking guts and nerve to puts your thoughts out there.

Comment by Keyosha

I think one of the more recent example of this that really resonated badly with me was BVB at the Golden Gods for their single “In The End”. I wouldn’t call myself a fan (I like some of their stuff and enjoyed their live performance in Columbus at Rock on the Range) I’ve seen the people in their fanbase and I’m not THAT dedicated to them lol. ANYWAYS, at Revolver’s Golden God Awards, the awards are given based on online votes from we members of the rock community. BVB won the award for best song, and then walked onstage to a barrage of hate and booing from the very rock community that put them there in the first place. David Draiman wrote something on the subject and even mentioned something that night about the rock community needing to stick together while he was onstage receiving his own award.

Rockers exist as a group alienated from the rest of the world by our musical preference. And we seem to want to divide ourselves into even smaller groups through all this hate for the music we love collectively.

If we can’t muster some respect for ourselves how do we intend to get even an inkling of it from anyone else.

Comment by ClarksvilleOHIO

I’m not a fan of Black Veil Brides at all, but I thought it was pretty badass how they stood up for themselves at the Golden God Awards. It reminded me of something Axl Rose would have done, he just spoke his mind. There needs to be more of a “stick it to the man” attitude in rock these days, it’s become a little tame and predictable and I think that’s why it’s not as popular anymore.

Comment by Alex

I’m starting to read this guy’s stuff, because this essay simply nailed it. And I loved the pic in the end “Keep calm and show Avenged Sevenfold some fucking respect”

Comment by Alvaro Castillo Capalbo

I wouldn’t call this an “essay”, it sounds more like the ramblings of a pissy foul mouthed teenager. But it is spot on! There’s lots of jealousy in the rock community.

Comment by Merlyn Sheldon III




Leave a Reply

