Deathbat News


Bass Player Magazine’s Johnny Christ Feature: Royal Salute.
January 5, 2014, 9:09 am
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Interviews, Johnny Christ

Bass Player Magazine has published their feature on Johnny Christ from their December 2013 issue. Johnny spoke about dialing in his sound on “Hail To The King,” how his playing techniques have changed over time, his signature Schecter bass, writing his bass parts on “Hail To The King,” what rigs he records with and plays live, the evolution of Avenged Sevenfold’s rhythm section with Arin Ilejay, how three different drummers have differed in terms of groove and more. Check out Premier Guitar’s Rig Rundown for Johnny Christ here.

“When I joined the band, I was the new kid, and I didn’t fully understand the songwriting aspect to playing bass—I just wanted to get in there and throw bass lick riffs around whether or not they made sense for the song. Now, I have a better understanding of the songwriting process, and I understand how too work as a band. I’ve definitely evolved to where I orchestrate my bass lines rather than throw down a bunch of riffs. As with other things, when you practice your craft as often as you can, it eventually starts to get better. I’m still proud of the work I’ve done in the past, but I feel that I’m maturing with each album, honing in and synching into the groove. I love playing, so I’m always trying to do things a little bit better.”

Submitted by Troy.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Sweet, Thanks, Troy! And thank you too, Kortney.

Comment by Loghen




Leave a Reply

