Deathbat News


Loudwire’s Interview With M Shadows.
April 1, 2014, 11:02 am
Filed under: Interviews, M Shadows

M Shadows was interviewed by Loudwire while Avenged Sevenfold were on tour in South America and talked about the biggest challenge in putting together ‘Hail To The King’, the nicest pay off from it so far, the inspiration behind ‘Shepherd Of Fire’, people who inspire their song-writing, bringing HELLYEAH and Adrenaline Mob on the Shepherd Of Fire Tour, what reaction songs off ‘Hail To The King’ have been getting live, Avenged Sevenfold’s fourth single, how ‘This Means War’ came together, Hail To The King: Deathbat, playing the ‘Rise Above’ festival, his thoughts on Metallica’s ‘Lords of Summer’ and more.

Have to ask, ‘Shepherd of Fire’ has been out a while now. Any thoughts on what might be next?
MS: Definitely ‘This Means War’ — when we sent the record to people the song originally they wanted was that one first. We wanted ‘Hail to the King’ first then they wanted it second, then we wanted ‘Shepherd of Fire’ second, so, it’s going to be the third single. Now, as a band, do we want to go with a ballad fourth? We’re not sure between the two ballads on the record what we’re going to chose. ‘This Means War’ is definitely going to be the next single

The ‘Hail to the King: Deathbat’ game that you guys are working on — I know you’re a big fan of storytelling games. Tell me a little bit about how the game came together and your involvement in it.
MS:We were just looking for another medium on being able to be creative. Music videos, they just don’t cut it anymore. The way that bands were able to express themselves, they don’t really exist. There’s a lot of — either you’re on Facebook or Twitter just annoying everybody about what you’re eating or what country you’re in and I just hate all that stuff. So one day when we were on a bus to a show in Southeast Asia about two years ago, I saw everyone on their phones and they were all playing games.

I said, ‘Man we can make a game!’ And that’s what kind of kicked this off. Besides that I wanted to write a triple A game completely separate from the band. I was really into doing a game. So through all these meetings and things we had put together with GDD, which is a game document design, we decided to start building this game two years ago. Now we’re close on doing a very expansive mobile video game, which is big enough to where it should be on a console but we’re squeezing it into a mobile platform. Hopefully our fans dig it and mostly, I hope gamers dig it. It’s a good game, it’s not just for fans of the band.

I read in another interview about it, eight original songs, nine old tracks. Kind of a mix of things in there. Can you talk about coming up with some of the music?
MS:We’ve been trying to downplay the music part because with the way our band sounds we don’t expect even half of our fans to get it or to understand it. It’s purely throwback video game music. A lot of 8-bit sounds but a lot of instrumentals. We made songs that reminded us of our youth playing ‘Castlevania’ or ‘Mario Brothers,’ ‘Zelda.’ So we made nine songs, which are original songs that we put together. They’ll be in the game. I’m sure we’ll do some sort of packaging where you can buy those songs with ‘Hail to the King’ or whatever. Or you can just play the game and listen to them. There’s nine songs, but we’re trying to downplay it. I don’t want everyone to think nine new songs, then they hear it and it’s a bunch of digital music.

60 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love Crimson Day and Acid Rain. I can see why Crimson Day would be the more appropriate choice as a fourth single, though. Which song would you guys choose?

Comment by Deathbat News

I’d choose Acid Rain as the 4th single.

Such an epic song.

Comment by Elizabeth Ashley

Acid Rain – no contest. I love that song.

Comment by Sarah Myers

ACID RAIN!!!

Comment by Steve

Crimson Day!
It’s by far my favorite ballad from them… it’s just perfect!

Comment by hamsterSKULL

Acid Rain!!

Comment by Julia

acid rain

Comment by Anonymous

I feel like it’s going to be Crimson Day since Acid Rain goes along with Planets.

Comment by Chris Cash

Acid Rain for sure. Just imagining a video for that is incredible.

Comment by Anonymous

I personally do like Acid Rain more, but Crimson Day is the better ballad for a single, when it comes down to it being commercial, Crimson Day is very similar to Seize the Day which was a big hit as a single

Comment by Frankie S

Definitely Acid Rain! It would be awesome if they could do a video with both Planets and Acid Rain though!

Comment by Matt

great idea!

Comment by Anonymous

Acid Rain, hands down =)

Comment by aightball

Definitely Crimson Day!!
Acid Rain is amazing too, but I’d like for them to release Planets before it.
Also, it would be cool if they could release both Acid Rain and Planets together as a double sided single!

Comment by Tabitha

Agreed.
I am surprised they haven’t played any of their last 5 songs?
Planets,heretic are such underrated songs!

Comment by Yasser

Acid rain !!!!

Comment by Zach Genewick

acid rain!

Comment by Anonymous

ACID RAIN, NO COMPETITION!

Comment by Andrew

Definitely Acid Rain.

Comment by Courtney

Acid Rain & Crimson Day are both great songs but I would choose Crimson Day as the next single.

Comment by Christian Grigsby

Acid rain!

Comment by Jay

Crimson Day!!!

Comment by Courtney

Acid Rain, hands down. I love Crimson Day, but… yeah. (:

Comment by Angie

Crimson Day, definitely!

Comment by Benjamin Schrøder

I personally like Acid Rain more, but as far as the 4th single, it’ll definitely be Crimson Day since it’s more of a traditional power ballad, and the fact that Planets and Acid Rain are more of a two-song piece.

Comment by Kyle

ACID RAIN 100%

Comment by Ashley

Crimson Day!

Comment by Anonymous

Acid rain

Comment by James

Acid rain hands down,such a beautiful song.
Love how the song continues after the events of “Planets”.

Comment by Yasser

Crimson Day!

Comment by Kevin

I know its not a Ballad but personally I wanna hear Coming Home on the radio as a single and live, its my favorite track from the album. But as far as ballads go I’d like Acid Rain

Comment by Jeremy Gollihar

I agree ^^^^^ Coming Home is by far my favorite song from HTTK. It would own rock radio. It reminds me a lot of Wasted Years from Maiden.

Comment by Revenant

I love Crimson Day!

Comment by Bruna Kelly

Either Crimson Day or Acid Rain

Comment by Megan Ottwell

have to agree Acid Rain, totally love this track and such a powerful ballad. I can picture the scene when I listen to it.

Comment by Karen

acid rain

Comment by Dominique Godbout

After Seize the Day and So Far Away i really think that I would choose Crimson Day as fourth single. All the three songs are epic and more “direct” ballads. Acid Rain, just as Victim was, is a masterpiece, but it’s more complex. Crimson Day is the typical ballad that catch your heart since the first time you listen to it!

Comment by Alessandro Pivetti

Crimson Day or Acid Rain!

Comment by Forever Avenged

Acid Rain!

Comment by Daniel Sims

acid rain!!

Comment by sophie

Acid Rain or Crimson Day

Comment by Heather Catlett

Crimson day will likely get the nod as it’s a more straightforward radio friendly song. I personally like acid rain more, and would be stoked if they make that the single, but it’ll likely be crimson day

Comment by Matt

Crimson day hands down. It’s my favorite ballad from the album.

Comment by Melissa

Hands down Acid Rain

Comment by Anonymous

Acid Rain, no contest.

Comment by Elyse Wittman

I love them both can’t choose either one will b grate!!!!

Comment by kevin_a7x

Not sure why, but Crimson Day is the only track on HTTK that really doesn’t do it for me. Acid Rain is fantastic though, I’m hoping they pick that one

Comment by Eh7x

I actually have to agree with you. I was not a big fan of Crimson Day when compared to their other ballads. Absolutely love Seize the Day, So Far Away, and even Warmness on the Soul. Acid Rain is amazing and is absolutely the way to go.

Comment by Lucas

As much as I love Acid Rain and see a video for it I think it ties in with Planets too much therefore I will say Crimson day I thik it will be a better stand alone single

Comment by Alex H

Crimson Day…you can’t go wrong with it

Comment by Mike

Both great songs but it needs to be Acid Rain.
It’s just really epic, it’d be the wiser choice.
Crimson Day seems like it’s the obvious choice and is what i feel like it’s going to be simply because of that.
but Acid Rain please.

Comment by Austin

Crimson Day. It’s just a great song. I love the message behind it and I can already imagine holding a lighter up, waving back and fourth singing along at a show.

Comment by gpiening

Coming home!!

Comment by ksiimiir

Crimson day! It’s such a powerful song that always makes me feel better ♥ “Storms can’t last, they clear the air for something new” reminded me a lot that there will be better times! It’s one of my favorite Avenged songs ever!

Comment by Lara Sparenberg

Two part video of Planets and Acid Rain would probably be the greatest thing in the world…. Just saying

Comment by Drew Boslooper

Acid Rain is a better song, in my opinion, but it goes hand-in-hand with Planets while Crimson Day can stand alone as a single. Personally, i think they should just play the whole album on the radio!

Comment by Alex

They should go with Acid Rain (my favorite all time song by Avenged Sevenfold) over Crimson Day.

Both songs are good though. Most of my friends talk crap about A7X and listen to mainstream stuff, but either of these two songs if released as singles will help them ‘see past the stereotypes’ [Remenissions reference :)] and may actually get more fans. They just call A7X a bunch of ‘screamo freaks’ which pisses me off but nothing you can do.

I love every A7X song but when I heard Acid Rain for the first time, I knew right away that this was a powerful song and I really hope it will become a single and make it big.

And just imagine the music video that could go with this!!

I know it’s a follow-up from Planets but still! As mentioned above, I think a music video combining Planets and Acid Rain might just be the best thing ever. They just have to execute it perfectly.

Time will tell.

Comment by Doug

ACID RAIN!!!

Comment by Drew Boslooper

ACID RAIN! It’s so different from any song they’ve ever made but also different from most songs played on rock stations near me. There are plenty of rock ballads that could fit into a group with Crimson Day as far as having a familiar sound. Acid Rain would stand alone and blow minds. They put it at the end because they knew it had the power to leave you thinking about the album and the song as something that feels like you just experienced and lived through as opposed to a lot of the white noise that is today’s rock playlist. PLUS if they put it on the radio it would be way more likely to finally make it into their live show which I’ve been waiting on since they started touring. Ultimately someone who likes Crimson Day more would say all the same things and be able to back it up just as well and be just as in the right as myself. I love that song, don’t get me wrong. But friggin’ Acid Rain guys. It’s not even really a choice.

Comment by ClarksvilleOHIO

I love them both. Hard to pick but I’m leaning toward Acid Rain.

Comment by Dorothy




Leave a Reply

