Deathbat News


Synyster Gates Plays Original Composition For Guitar Center Master Class Winners.
April 3, 2014, 3:13 pm
Filed under: Synyster Gates

Synyster Gates hosted his Guitar Center Master Class at Guitar Center Hollywood’s Vintage room and played an original song he composed just for winners. One of the lucky few in attendance, Trey Quick, recorded and sent in this video. Syn also played an improvised take on gypsy-jazz player Django Reinhardt’s “Minor Swing.” Photos from the event can be found here.

18 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Absolutely incredible.

Comment by Deathbat News

I absolutely second that.

Comment by Lou Noriega Jr.

He is not human.

Comment by Anonymous

I wonder if that over hand tapping part was what we saw him playing in the preview video for Planets? Always had me curious as to if that would be a solo or just him noodling.

Comment by Mike

Another winner, Trey Swain, sent in his video of Gates playing the original composition.

Comment by Deathbat News

god damm! one of the sickest things ive ever seen!

Comment by Bryan

I can’t imagine being there in-person to witness that…

Comment by Kyle

Killer Composition! Awesome solo!

Comment by Natasha Boyd

That was the most insane thing I’ve heard him play… Love the tapping parts

Comment by Milaneus

Haha, I was watching a video on youtube where someone said the Jake Pitts from BVB was way better than Syn based on his tapping ability. I think I’ll be linking this video to him. I hope he breaks that jam out on the Shepard of fire tour! The Django playing was fantastic too. I hope that he sometimes finds the time to record a solo album.

Comment by SynVanSambora

Tell that person he is an absolute idiot. Tapping ability has nothing to do with talent.

Comment by O-H

I hope this is where Avenged is going with their music on the next album. Sort of has that same spacey, galactic flavor like Planets and Acid Rain where the music really has a lot of feel to it and just takes you to a different place.

Comment by ClarksvilleOHIO

How does he do the natural harmonics without picking? Using his nail? That really blew my mind.

Comment by Kaylee

Kaylee, he’s performing a tapped harmonic. To do that you lightly tap 5, 7, or 12 frets up from wherever your left hand is fretting.

Comment by Anonymous

This is a-fucking-mazing!!! I would give my left one to be half as good as Syn!

Comment by Rob

Maybe I’m the only one to notice, but he’s playing the Rev guitar :O

Comment by Anonymous

Syn your the man. your the reason I play guitar! You are truly amazing and I wish I had half of your talent. Keep rockin on man! If only I could meet him. Wow!!!

Comment by Seth Mattocks

If only I could meet him. Wow!!!

Comment by Seth Mattocks




Leave a Reply

