Deathbat News


Arin Ilejay Lists Nine Drummers That Influenced His Style.
June 25, 2014, 5:40 am
Filed under: Arin Ilejay, Interviews

Arin Ilejay gave Rhythm Magazine a list of nine drummers that helped influence his style.

“One of the first big influences for me was Dave Weckl. His is the kind of stuff that I would just sit and listen to. I learned drums by just listening to music and playing what I heard. My dad turned me onto Dave Weckl and his playing was incredible. At the time I couldn’t pull any of it off, I don’t think I could even do any of it now to be honest. I haven’t listened to him as much lately because I’ve been focusing on different music, but he inspired me to want to be better.”

“The Mars Volta was a huge thing for me, guys like Jon Theodore and Thomas Pridgen are incredible guys. Thomas Pridgen has been huge for me recently. Jon Theodore had a huge influence on my style as well. He broadened my horizons when it comes to different techniques.

The Rev (Jimmy “The Rev” Sullivan) was the person that got me into metal. There weren’t any metal drummers that drew me in until him. Jimmy’s parts are amazing so [on joining the band] being already a fan of Jimmy – he’s one of my favourite drummers – I wanted to do his parts right, you know? So I was like, “I’m going to do these parts right, this is what I’m good at, this is what I do.”

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Awesome read! I love when Arin gets interviewed and hearing about his drum influences is awesome :)

Comment by pinkyandthesheep

crazy fills on the next album!

Comment by Drew Boslooper

and you do his parts perfectly, youre the best addition they could have hoped for

Comment by Rog




Leave a Reply

