Deathbat News


ARTISTdirect: Metallica, Asking Alexandria, DevilDriver And More On Avenged Sevenfold.
July 23, 2014, 5:08 pm
Filed under: Hail To The King, Misc. Bands

ARTISTdirect asked members of Metallica, Asking Alexandria, DevilDriver, In This Moment and Korn as well as Tech N9ne and Machine Gun Kelly what they had to say about Avenged Sevenfold and Hail To The King.

James Hetfield [Metallica]: Avenged Sevenfold is great. I dig everything they do. We had them on the first Orion Music + More, and I got up and introduced them. I’ve always got them somewhere on the playlist!

Ben Bruce [Asking Alexandria]: Hail to the King is amazing! It’s one of my favorite records of last year. I still listen to that record probably every day. They stay true to what they are. They’ve been finding their feet over the last couple of years. We’re good friends with those guys, and I know they’re huge fans of Guns N’ Roses, Mötley Crüe, and Metallica—same as we are. I think they managed to create a record that encompasses all of those things but doesn’t directly rip them off. It’s a modern interpretation of a Guns N’ Roses album or a Metallica album, which is really cool.

Tech N9ne: Oh my God, Hail to the King is wonderful! They came to Kansas City, and I was such a fan that I went to that show. I had the day off. I got backstage, and they said, “Man, you want to stand on stage behind?” I was like, “No, I’m going out into the fucking crowd at the sound booth so I can feel that shit!” They dedicated “A Little Piece of Heaven”, one of my favorite songs by them, to me. The crowd went crazy. It was fucking beautiful. I first heard them on the City of Evil album when it came out. It was that one. From them on, I’ve been with them. I was going to get M. Shadows on a track, but MGK did it on his last album. We have to do something. MGK and I are homeboys, but I can’t do the same thing! Shadows has some pipes, boy!

Jeff Kendrick [DevilDriver]: Hail To The King is one of my favorite releases of the past few years. Avenged Sevenfold really know how to pay tribute to classic metal, while at the same time being able to add their own particular flavor. It’s a well-crafted album with sickening shredding by Synyster Gates. What a player! That guy definitely inspires me.

Machine Gun Kelly: Those are my boys. Hail to the King is another great fucking record, and they continue to step it up. I’ll say it again. M. Shadows has one of the best voices ever. I love it and was blown away as a fan.

Chris Howorth [In This Moment]: I like the new Avenged Sevenfold album, Hail to the King. It sounds really great. The production is phenomenal. It’s such a great album. I’ve definitely been listening to that.

“Fieldy” [Korn]: They’re a killer band and we’ve become good friends. We’re practically neighbors. I like the new record too. It’s got that very classic metal sound. It’s dope.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

PRAISE.

Comment by Loghen




Leave a Reply

