Deathbat News


Revolver Sits Down With M Shadows.
November 29, 2010, 8:57 am
Filed under: Avenged Sevenfold, Interviews, News, Publications

Make sure you pick up the Dec 21st issue of Revolver Magazine because it will feature two brand new interviews with M Shadows.


153 Comments so far
Leave a comment

poop balls!! YEAAA

Comment by ty

New drummer, and i think i know who it will be… if it isn’t stupidly obvious!

Comment by Jake

It’s gotta be tha M Shads is taking over drums and Johny Christ is gonna be singer.

Comment by Kane

of course! why didnt i see it before! and theyre bringing in corey taylor to be a 2nd vocalist since they seem to love him so much lmao

Comment by Ryan

And fucking J.B. Diz on the tambourine!!

Comment by Sarah

hopefully it’s good news…

Comment by Ka7x

Portnoy is joining?

Comment by Ben

is it possible to get this in england? :/

Comment by H

It’ll probably be posted on this site anyway

Comment by Sam

True, thanks ;)

Comment by H

I don’t know, not in Holland anyway

Comment by lean99zz

revolver mag is distributed world wide :D

Comment by Alive

with the big news thing, the first thing that came into my head was mike being the permanent drummer
but who knows im excited now lol

Comment by Anonymous

Thats what i thought too ;)

Comment by H

I think that might be it. Portnoy did post a questionable tweet about he’s not allowed to post details.

Comment by Drivillian

he was referring to him not being able to say where they are in the middle east, regarding their safety.

Comment by Anonymous

That was in regards to their being over in Iraq. They’re not allowed to give out their current location for safety reasons.

Comment by deathbatnews

Can’t wait! <3

Comment by Atrum

dun dun duhhhh!

Comment by Julia

Yeah, the first thing that came to mind was Mike going to be their permanent drummer lol

Comment by Jenny

What about them releasing a new song? Possibly big news but i don’t know

Comment by Alex

Oh yeah that’s right they did have one song they said they would release later or it both portnoy as there new drummer and a new song

Comment by Chris

Yeah, i have been wondering about that other song.

Comment by Derek Williams

I reckon its to early for that, maybe Mike Portnoy being permanent and they started making a video for Welcome to the family?

Comment by Will0240 A7X forREVer

I don’t know if I will be able to wait that long! CRAP!

Comment by J7x88

I hope the big the news is that they’re gonna continue as a band and make a another album. Or maybe they’re announcing the european tour dates for the summer. Who knows. You can get Revolver in Finland so you probably can get it in the UK too.

Comment by t

No offense, but I don’t think they would say it has big news about A7X if it was just tour dates. It’s really big if they said that.

Comment by Drivillian

I’m wondering if it will be about the future of the band, too.
After all… they are signing up to more and more things.

I believe it could be that they are continuing…and that to do that Mike will be joining.

However, I’m trying not to get too excited to avoid disappointment.

Comment by Sarah

I hope it’s that Mike’s staying. If it’s not that, then I have no idea…

Comment by Beck

Ooooh, whats the news?! I don’t think you can get it in Scotland/UK :'(

Comment by Amanda :D!

I’m in Scotland too, but sometimes they sell it on eBay :)

Comment by EmilyVengeance

I really need to start subscribing to Revolver, but if I subscribe now, would I get this issue sent to me or would I still have to go and buy it? bah, I’ll subscribe and see what happens, lol, Revolver seems to be one of the best for including Avenged, I honestly don’t remember seeing anything about them in AP since Jimmy passed.

Comment by Elin

I subscribed a few weeks ago, and I can’t remember what it said about when the first issue would come. I think it was 4-6 weeks; that’s what it seems to be for most magazines. I hope you and I both get it delivered to us!

Comment by Rachel

According to Revolver’s FAQ’s:

If this is your first time subscribing to Revolver magazine, your first issue is shipped via U.S. Mail at the standard rate and can take up to eight to 10 weeks for delivery depending on the next issue release date and the date you subscribed.

Comment by Rachel

Ohhh mannnn i hope it’s good news!!

Comment by Angst

funny how we’re all thinking the same thing :)
I hope someone will scan it since i wont be able to get it here in germany :(

Comment by Bianca

Can’t get Revolver in my country so I hope you can tell us what the big news is :)

Comment by Katty

Well i hope its only good news

Comment by Joel Paz

Is that the one with the big poster??

Comment by lean99zz

no that was Kerrang! which was released last Wednesday.

Comment by Angst

The big poster should be in the latest Kerrang Magazine, i think!

Comment by Anonymous

Hmmm……

Comment by ashleigh

hopefully it’s Portnoy.. but then again it could be the complete opposite.

Comment by Drivillian

Maybe it can be the future of the band, like if they will change the name or if they will continue being avenged sevenfold?

Comment by RuiA7X

I think they’ll always remain avenged sevenfold.. :D
band or no band! :D

Comment by Jessica

heres what i think it might be

Good News- Mike joining avenged sevenfold officially :)or confirming they are going to make more albums

Bad News- They end the band like matt said lay the name to bed and start something new because jimmy was a big part of avenged sevenfold :(

Comment by Anonymous

Where did you see that at? :)

Comment by Jessica

if you watch some of the earlier interviews before nightmare was released matt mentioned it a few times

Here is one of them

skip to 3:39

Comment by Anonymous

what he said was that: “IF they can’t put out new good stuff then lay the name to bed” not necessarily that they would..

Comment by diego

Wasn’t that just speculation?

Comment by Rachel

that’s what i thought

Comment by A

im not sure but thats just what i think could be worst case scenario if its bad news i think its most likely mike joining avenged permanently and maybe starting to work on a video for welcome to the family

Comment by Anonymous

I really hope its good news!!!!!!!

Comment by Will0240 A7X forREVer

I swear if they break up I will cry!! ='( But can’t wait to read the interviews with M.Shadows.

Comment by Kell

Is DBN Privy to this information? :)
Hahaa
But i’m nervous about the news..
What if its bad. :'(

Comment by Lindseyy:)

I think it would be good news, because I don’t think they would say “big A7X news” and get our hopes up about portnoy only to say they’re breaking up or something..
ORrr It could be the two interviews to explain stuff..
I don’t know.
Gosh.

Comment by Lindseyy:)

I hope the news confirms my suspicion that Syn has been learning Spanish in order to take over the position as a7x’s lead vocalist and transforming the band into a Latin American pop group. One can only hope.

Comment by Zack

Lmfao this was random, but a funny idea ;)

Comment by Andi iRock

:D

Comment by Jessica

LMAO

“Vengado 7 Veces”

Comment by Loghen

That must obviously be it.

Comment by Alejandra

It’s probably about them releasing that other non album track that never made it to the album.

Comment by Anonymous

That was released a long time ago.

Comment by Josh

There were 13 songs recorded for Nightmare; 11 made it onto the album, Lost It All was the twelve, and there is one that remains unreleased…

Comment by Mike

No they had a nother song that wasn’t lost it all

Comment by Chris

I agree with u.

Comment by Anonymous

Not really, he was talking about ‘Dirty Pop’ not ‘Lost it All’.
A7X recorded 13 songs, and released only 12.

Comment by Gunslinger

What??? Dirty Pop??

Comment by Alikz

“Dirty Pop” was never confirmed as the other non-album track that he was talking about.

Comment by Joshua

I haven’t found anything about this song called “Dirty Pop.” Here we go again with the fake songs, just like “Unwind the Chainsaw”….

Comment by Alikz

“Dirty Pop” isnt really a ‘fake’ song. It’s listed on the track list and you can see that if you purchase the deluxe edition of “Nightmare” on iTunes. It could have been a throw-away song which would now just be a b-side but they’ve never actually said that it was the second non-album bonus track.

“Unwind The Chainsaw” however was completely fake.

Comment by deathbatnews

wasn’t “The Harvester” also a song on that list? that would make it two songs…but maybe they didn’t record both of them

Comment by a7xfreakdrummer

Yep, it sure was. In these sort of instances some of the titles could have been switched to what they are now or were basically thrown off the album and into the “b-side” pile. Who knows though, guess we’ll find out when/if they ever decide to release it.

Comment by deathbatnews

Origionally, thats what I thought as well.. which would be amazing!! But, it’s probably an announcment that Mike Portnoy has officially joined Avenged Sevenfold in a more permanent manner.

Comment by Anonymous

Good news,Good news, I hope :}

Comment by Sian

Ahh! It’s so far away! *runs in circles* I can’t handle the suspense >.<

Comment by Harley Quinn

Can’t get it in my country as well…
If it is good news, it definetly isn’t they breaking up.
I hope it is the release of a new song or the confirmation that Mike will be the permanent drummer!

Comment by Rachel

dbn lady what do you think the news is? new drummer? or maybe they drop the name a7x and start fresh with a new name?

Comment by zachrabit

I’ll be so excited if Mike is joining the group and they are making a new album. That would be such a happy announcement. Little M Shadows and Syn babies running around would be happy news too.

Comment by Tracey7777

Really? I think it’d be weird if they had kids. xD Definitely something I’d have to get used to, anyway.

Comment by Rachel

yeah theyre brother in laws too

Comment by Anonymous

Haha! I didn’t realize that til you mentioned it. That’s kinda funny lol.

Comment by Jessica

I wouldn’t be suprised, honestly. What I find funny is that their eventual kids will be cousins to each other! XD

Comment by Alyssa

if they have kids. a couple of them have stated they dont want to

Comment by Anonymous

Where did you read that? I don’t remember any of the guys saying that they did/didn’t want to have kids…

Comment by Alyssa

jimmy for sure said he didn’t and that is why he waited 4 years to get married and at least one of them also were not interested

Comment by Anonymous

Ummm…Jimmy was never married. He didn’t believe in marriage. Get your facts straight first.

Comment by Alyssa

A7X is not breaking up, Mike is joining as permanent drummer, their going to start work on another album as soon as the current tour is over and they have decided to do all the festivals in England they can next year and they have personally invited me to all of them as their tea girl and personal slave. in my la la land this is how it shall be. mxx

Comment by michelle Armstrong

i just hope that they are playing rock on the range this year…..

Comment by ktdlovesa7x

cant wait to see what the big news is, but i dont want to be too excited over it or it will feel like the countdown to july 27 all over again :/ also *cough*its my birthday*cough*

Comment by deen

I’m guessing they’re announcing Portnoy as the new drummer. Not sure what else would constitute as “big” news.

Comment by A7XEric

i can’t wait..gonna have to get this:D..i’m gonna keep wondering and wondering what that news is until the mag comes out.lol.i hope it gets to where i am sometimes it takes forever to get here.

Comment by amy

is that the hottest chicks in rock issue or a different one?

Comment by Kali

It’s a different one.

Comment by Rachel

the fact is everyone can speculate all you want but there is no way of knowing for sure until december 21st.

Comment by Tich \m/

gahh, I wanna know! this is torture :/

Comment by francyA7X

Awww, but I wanna know now! Haha, I don’t think I will be able to wait until December 21st!

Comment by Alyssa

Dear Avenged Sevenfold,
Mike Portnoy better be the new drummer! That’s all I have to say…

Comment by Aimee

they will be starting a sigmound Freud tribute band called sigmound Freud does his own mother. they will be playing classic sigmound Freud tunes. trust me guys m shadows told me it in one of my dreams

Comment by jordan

I just needed to say that this comment just made my day! haha!

Comment by Amelia

Yeah best comment ever! Haha.

Comment by eclecticmuso

either mike is joining permanently and they decided to continue and make records, they got the nominations for grammys or theyre releasing that one song they said didnt make it on the album
All three would be sickkk but im really hoping for the first ! :)

Comment by Kyle

The nominations will be announced this wednesday. :)

Comment by Alyssa

i know what the news are ! thihihi * evilcrazy eye look*

Comment by mia

Alright!!! The news comes on my b-day!! Yes! Crossing my fingers for Mike to be in the band for sure. Or renaming it Sigmound Freud Does His Own Mother would be pretty sweet too.

Comment by Rocky

and they write an album full of classic sigmund freud tunes =)

Comment by matt c

Dream announcement: Portnoy joins a7x and they start making an album and M Shadows will scream in it and it will be as awesome as WTF and StST combined.

Comment by Kane

those are their worst 2 albums. City of evil wasn’t too special either, since most of the songs were written in D. Self titled was easily their best. Nightmare is damn good though.

Just cause he screams, that doesnt make it good music. In fact, STST was very sloppy and shitty.

Comment by ty

LOL… Waking the fallen is their second best album and City of Evil is their best album. Self titled is not their best… it has one or two good songs on their while WTF and COE have one or two bad songs.

Comment by Matt

ANYONE who listens to City of Evil show realize that, especially within the 2nd half of that album, A7X are at their most complex and musical best. The songs are dense, layered, progressive, and they connect really well, and are also musically complex and full of harmony and well thought out content. Waking the Fallen is also a truly great album, and it was all about painting moods and diving deep into emotions. That album was full of music and full of sadness and hopelessness, which was portrayed through the music, especially on a song like And All Things Will End, which hardly ever gets mentioned. Avenged Sevenfold are one of the few bands who can write in the same key and still write purely original music. That’s my two cents.

Comment by Anonymous

Which album is best is down to personal opinion, don’t try to convince other people of which was the best. Please…:)

Incidentally, I think WTF is pretty good, Nightmare is my favourite, though.

I’m excited, but I’m not going to dare speculate.

Four days til Christmas, though…better be a good early Christmas present.

Comment by Marly

Yep I agree

Comment by Angst

If you look past the sloppyness and everything, you should realize that STST is actually a really good album, I wouldn’t call it their best, but I’d easily say that they’ve never released a “bad” album.

Comment by Anonymous

But the fact is, is that it is sloppy. And WTF and STST riffs are straight forward, and M. Shadows voice is still not the greatest. Self titled is so unique. No other band will come out with an alum as great as that. That album truly shows all their influences, and how great of musicians they are.

Comment by ty

-_-‘ So does Nightmare. I personally think Nightmare is their best effort.

And I have to say other bands have released albums that are greater than the self-titled album…

I became a fan on the S/T album, though, so I have a soft spot for it.

I appreciate STST and WTF, though. WTF more.

Comment by Marly

thevye always got better with every album. thats why we’re here.

Comment by eh7x

Dream announcement: Jimmy’s not actually dead and he’s just in the woods, and he’ll be returning in 10 years as the knife master

Comment by Jon

:D

Nothing more to say…

Comment by SS

this comment made me smile. won’t we all wish this were true.

Comment by eternitys_charm

I almost wish this hadn’t been posted until a week before the issue came out so we all wouldn’t have to anxiously anticipate what the news will be lol.

Comment by Cecilia Gray

[…] Revolver Sits Down With M Shadows + Big News Coming. Make sure you pick up the Dec 21st issue of Revolver Magazine because it will not only feature two interviews with M […] […]

Pingback by Top Posts — WordPress.com

Heres my guess on what the big news will be:
I think that for The one year anniversary of Jimmys death, Avenged Sevenfold is going to release Fiction as the new single with his original demo recorded included. I think a music video for fiction will follow including all the memories the band had with jimmy and had recorded on video similar to that video they released earlier this year after jimmy died. Then of course they might release Welcome to the Family new music video including the new 13th unreleased song as a b-side. I have a feelingthat this new music video for Welcome to the Family will be a live video where they include the parts that Mike is honored and this will conclude that their final decision is that mike portnoy is the new official drummer of Avenged Sevenfold! It would be not only a good idea but fuckin awesome as well. Wbo agrees?

Comment by Matteo

A music video is also a good guess. Surely they won’t just make on video for this album.

Comment by Rdog

I don’t think it will be fiction as a single. I feel their intention was to just release that song on the album and then just leave it as jimmy’s “last performance” if you will, and not play it live or make a video for it or anything

Comment by Scott

live in the LBC walk cover matteo? or just a matteo?

Comment by deen

Haha nooo!! But i wishhh!!!!!!!! Lmfao! That would be awesome. But nope just a matteo. Ahah

Comment by Matteo

Matteo – that would rock!

Comment by greg

I LOLed

Comment by Anonymous

I knoww!!!! It would be awesome!

Comment by Matteo

Im actually scared about finding out what the “big news” is. What if they break up?? That would fucking suck!! That would be like the worst thing EVER! Ive been a fan since I was like 6 or 7!!! I mean..I guess im sounding selfish cuz what evers best for them is best. But it would still suck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comment by Brianna

Don’t worry, I feel the same way
However, I don’t think that’s what the big news will be.
They wouldn’t say it that way to get people excited and then say ”Here’s the news you’ve all been waiting for… AVENGED SEVENFOLD IS OVER :D”
That would be kinda cruel if you ask me, lol

Comment by Loghen

I agree with everything you said and it’d be especially cruel so close to Christmas…

Comment by SS

i dont think they would break up because they still have more tour dates and they wouldnt just say its over during the tour

Comment by Anonymous

if that is the news ill probably cry

Comment by A

What if it’s that book Matt and the band talked making about the revs drumming and memories

Comment by Chris

I could be a NEW LIVE DVD I ment to put that on my last post

Comment by Chris

That would be awesome! Either from uproar or nightmare after Christmas. Fucking EPIC!

Comment by syn's_revenge

cant wait to read it!
im kinda scared though!

Comment by emilyA7X

That would be acutely supreme if Mike Portnoy was anointed the role as the prime Avenged Sevenfold Drummer!!

One can only prospect.

Comment by The Most Interesting Man In The World

Let’s just hope that whatever the news is it’s good news.

Comment by syn's_revenge

It would also be so cool if they but ALL the songs Jimmy was in from previous albums and Nightmare into one album. So you have like one last compilation of the Revs hard earned work

Comment by Tanzima

A live DVD with the stage production from Uproar would be amazing. There are so many people I know who’ve never been to an A7X show who would love it!

Comment by Dave

And how am I going to now what the news are about? T.T ‘Cause I live in Barcelona and the Kerrang edition is waaaaaaay diferent. R’u posting the news when they come out DBN?

Comment by Nickie

Oh, great, it`s Revolver. We don`t even have Revolver in Spain.

Comment by Nickie

DBN will post it once the countries that do get have all got it. I believe.

Comment by Marly

How bout a new dvd like all excess with a whole loota never bfor seen video footage of jimmy in it

Comment by sidewinder

I would expect them to be adding more dates to the Nightmare After X-mas Tour or announcing a new tour all together. We can only hope. :)

Comment by Demian

I can’t wait!!! :)

Comment by Rachael

Maybe they’ll finally release Unwind the Chainsaw…… Bahahahaha

Comment by Sarah

Not a real song. Just saying.

Comment by Mike

I bet there gonna have mike join and form a new band . It makes the most sense

Comment by eh7x

I hope Mike joins ‘A7X’ but it won’t be the same. When you thing Avenged you think Matt, Syn, Zacky, Johnny and Jimmy. I want him to join and I’m so grateful to what he has done for the band but it’s not the same. Avenged is those 5 guys not minus Jimmy and plus Mike. I know it might sound wrong an that but thats just how I feel. I love Mike and I want him to stay with the guys just not Avenged Sevenfold

Comment by Tanzima

[…] been informed by management that there is no “big news” coming from Avenged Sevenfold in the December 21st issue of Revolver. The news is coming from the magazine, not the […]

Pingback by No “Big” Announcement About Avenged Sevenfold Coming From M Shadows. «




Leave a comment